What if I just want a phone button on my screen?

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by vpshockwave, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. vpshockwave
    Offline

    vpshockwave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    A simple question. I'd love to just have a phone button at the bottom of my screen when I'm on my home screen at all times. I know GDE can do this, but honestly I'm perfectly happy with the current UI, except for the lack of phone button.

    Is there anything out there that can simply add this in?
     
  2. JaCelica2k
    Offline

    JaCelica2k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1

    I am not sure I understand what you are asking. By default there is an icon for "phone" application on home screen.
     
  3. vpshockwave
    Offline

    vpshockwave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm referring to something such as this

    [​IMG]

    I'd be nice not to have to search for an icon, and instead have it permanently stuck at the bottom, very similar to phones that have the buttons outside the touchscreen.

    It's bit hard to explain, but basically out of that picture, I just want that bottom dock thing that has the phone button on it. That's it. Not a huge theme replacement.
     
  4. iSecks
    Offline

    iSecks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    GDE is what you're looking for [that screenshot]. It's amazing. I prefer Home++ but GDE is similar to the original home, which I believe is what you're looking for. You could also get an Eclair theme for it so you can have the original look if you'd like.
     
  5. adam8ch
    Offline

    adam8ch Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    not a fan of gde, too slow. try home++
     
  6. seang
    Offline

    seang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^lol if you want force closes constantly, then use ++
    Been using GDE for a week, not 1 FC. and speed? no issue.

    as far as the OP...
    just make the same phone icon on all the screens. drag it from the tray.
     
  7. gatewayad
    Online

    gatewayad Guest

    Ratings:
    +0

    OR..... I've just gotten use to pressing the home button then the phone, I have the 2.1 launcher with the 5 screens and instead of waisting a spot on all screens I just hit home>phone
     
  8. Big Cam
    Offline

    Big Cam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure you can find an icon for that, if not just have your contacts icon there, when you touch that you have access to the phone or contacts.

    99% of the time when I make a call, it goes out to one of my contacts.
     
  9. SirSyeco
    Offline

    SirSyeco Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    and to specifically answer your question.. there is not a separate button only that will sit at the bottom. The home screen is not setup to do that.. so you'd have to do a home replacement. (GDE)

    or, do what was mentioned and add a phone icon to each screen
     
  10. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    I saw on another post that the people who make Home++ are thinking about creating an app that's just the power strip for use with the stock home. This will take care of the phone button (and add some others if you like) being on all screens.
     
  11. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    use home++, you will like it
     
  12. Matth3w
    Online

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I am drooling for this to come out. So long as you can customize the buttons, which they said it would.
     
  13. likelinus
    Offline

    likelinus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never had home ++ force close on me in the 4 weeks I've used it. Odd.
     
  14. ASN-121
    Offline

    ASN-121 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mesa
    Ratings:
    +0

    Neither have I, except when I purposely overloaded my phone to test its capability. And a week to test isn't long enough. I've been running Home++ since December with little to no compatibility issues.
     
  15. dverplank
    Offline

    dverplank Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    me too!................