What have YOU done with Tasker?

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by 25cents, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. zeroforum

    zeroforum New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome, that worked great - thanks.

    One thing though, how do I set it to Lock like I pushed the power key on the top left? The only Lock I can find has me typing a numeric password to unlock, not the Keyboard Pattern.

    Also, can someone tell me how to set the Profile Status "Wifi Disconnect" part bolded above? Is this supposed to refer to another profile? Not sure how to set this within a Task. Thanks.
     
  2. calicocal

    calicocal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way to make any of the SMS stuff work with google voice?

    Also is K9 email the only email app that works with tasker?
     
    #122 calicocal, Sep 2, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
  3. rolltide

    rolltide New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm going crazy trying to figure out how to have Tasker turn off my Wifi between the hours of 12:30am - 7:00am IF my screen is off. I can get it to turn off Wifi in that time frame without setting a variable but when I add the variable SCREEN ~ OFF it won't turn off. I'm going mad here. Any ideas? Thanks!
     
    #123 rolltide, Sep 3, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2010
  4. dfBaud

    dfBaud New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    @rolltide: I think you'll have to post your profiles and tasks to get help with this.
     
  5. rolltide

    rolltide New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I actually got it figured out. But now I'm questioning if it's worth it. I'm still pretty new to this. Do you think it actually preserves the battery to have WiFi and GPS shut off when the screen goes off? Is there any reason I wouldn't want to do that? I guess the 3G connection handles any data requests when Wifi goes off, but does that use significantly less power than WiFi? Forgive me if this is the incorrect forum to post this question.

    Thanks! :icon_ banana:
     
  6. dfBaud

    dfBaud New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. whatllitbenext

    whatllitbenext New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey 25cents --

    awesome work!

    I'm a bit daft, 'tho, 'cause I'm just getting a Google Voice SMS that says "%batt %loc".

    I added a 1 minute wait before "compose sms".

    Any ideas?

    TIA!
     
  8. mazzthepianoman

    mazzthepianoman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Newark, Ohio USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    The task is in the tasker section and is called "Profile Status". Basically it allows you to enable/disable profiles.

    However my Tasker script needs some revisions because I discovered that disabling a profile reverts the settings (in other words disabling the Wifi Near profile often turns wifi back off). To get around this actions you want to remain after disabled the profile should be made into separate named tasks and executed with the Tasker task "Perform Task".
     
  9. DroidxRage

    DroidxRage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England - Home of Champions
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know a plug-in that lets you toggle when the phone uses Google voice to make calls, or uses the main number?

    Everyone I work with has my GV number, so at work I want it to default to the GV for outbound calls. But when I'm at home, I want to use my VZW number. I tried the "Locale Google Voice Set Plug", but it doesn't seem to have the ability to toggle the calling mode, unless I'm missing something.

    Also, setting it to use GV on wi-fi would save me some minutes.

    TIA!!


    Also, I won't ask for help without offering something. It might have been posted but here's a profile to offer:

    Flip to silence: (turn the phone on the screen, and it's silent. Great for meetings)

    Trigger:
    Orientation is Face Down

    Task:
    Silent Mode: ON

    Exit Task:
    Silent Mode: Off

    Also to turn off interrupting notifications when music is playing:

    Trigger:
    Application on: Rhapsody / Pandora / etc.

    Task:
    Notification volume = 0.

    Exit Task: Notification Volume = 5 (or whatever value you like for default)
     
  10. jaba14

    jaba14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Matt - I used this profile, but for some reason, my Wifi is not staying connected even when I'm sitting in the same spot 5 feet from the router. Any thoughts as to what the issue might be? When I look at my profiles, "Home Wifi" and "Wifi disconnect" have disabled red circles next to them, even though I've enabled them.

    Thanks.
    -jaba

    Edit: Oops, just saw your post above where you say you need to revise your profiles.
     
  11. keithsmith22

    keithsmith22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK...this is my biggest question. How does this effect your battery life? I got lucky and won a copy off of Android Police and I have some basic ideas but my biggest concern is for the battery usage. For my GPS profiles for work and home to be accurate I need it to check fairly often as I don't want to be home for an hour and forget to turn my volume up or connect to wifi. I thought about doing time constraints instead but what about when I am on vacation or take a day off. can you easily override those for those days so it doesn't keep converting back? I am very noob to this program and honestly will be doing the basics but I don't want to sacrifice battery for something that takes me 2 seconds to do manually. Let me know your thoughts. Thanks in advance.
     
  12. NebulaOcton

    NebulaOcton Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Some new things I have done.

    I have the Navy Bells profile (on the tasker wiki) running and I have it store the current %volm to %med and reset the volume back to %med when its done.

    I created two widgets, one mutes and stores the set volumes to variables, another unmutes and restores those volumes.

    I have it ask if I want to disable gps or not after I disconnect from the car dock.

    I auto mute and turn on wifi during class hours and vice versa when class is over ( I am a part time student so I am only on campus for a couple hours.

    When I open my tracks I only have it enable the GPS if the headphones are plugged in. That way I save battery power if I am only checking my stats.

    When I get home I set a varible to 1 (location based) and turn Wifi on. MY house is large and I lose connection sometimes in the bedroom. I don't have it turn off wifi unless I am disconnected and the variable is cleared by leaving the house.

    I like to listen to my phone when I drive so when docked and after the bluetooth connects (this way in case my dock gets in my wife's car none of this activates unless it connects to my car's bluetooth) I have it set the media volume to 15 so I have a set level that it inputs through the aux. jack and can adjust the volume with my steering wheel controls.

    I'm thinking of getting rid of AppAlarm and using tasker for its functions as well.

    Still waiting for Google Voice integration because I don't have a txt plan.
     
Search tags for this page

android tasker examples

,
best tasker profiles
,
tasker android examples
,

tasker examples

,
tasker flashlight
,
tasker force close app
,
tasker profile examples
,
tasker random ringtone
,
tasker sleep timer
,
what have you done with tasker