1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

what happened to JIT??

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by tiggerxplur, Jun 30, 2010.

  1. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    i thought froyo was supposed to enable JIT i know the nexus 1 can use it but i havent read anything since the froyo leak for our droids came out does it work or will we have to wait for cyanogen or something from source to get it to work
  2. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    JIT is built into Froyo, that is why the benchmark scores are much higher than they were running Eclair.
  3. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    yeah, no longer is a separate app needed. I've tested JIT on cn5072 with no apps2sd and it did help, but not enough to offset the gains apps2sd gave me.
  4. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    i wasnt sure cause i watched the video comparison on the DX N1 and EVO snf the N1 was significantly faster than the moto droids even when OCed
  5. 7h3.4pp12en7ic3
    Offline

    7h3.4pp12en7ic3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    That's definitely not what my quadrant scores are saying. 1376?
    And on Linpack im getting a solid 17.1mflops.
    Thats pretty damn fast imho.

    I'm running BB 0.4, with Chevy's 1100LV Kernel, btw. Thats been the best balance between stability and speed for me.
  6. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    nexus is getting 30 - 40 mflops on linpack

  7. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am convinced that Linpak is optimized for Qualcomm chipsets..... As a benchmark, Linpak is not all that useful anyways; it only tests the FPU (floating point unit) part of the CPU. Quadrant is alot more useful for showing real-world performance (well, as useful as any synthetic benchmark can be)
  8. 7h3.4pp12en7ic3
    Offline

    7h3.4pp12en7ic3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    When maxed, yes. But the droid has been shown to be almost as capable. Don't forget, the nexus's default clock speed is almost twice as fast as the Driod's. In turn, it's "max" stable clock speed is quite a bit higher than a Droid's. The fastest I've seen a Droid OC'd to is about 1.3ghz, I've heard of experimental Nexus kernels running at 9ghz. Now, that's not necessarily stable, nor good for your phone, but still.

    I am really not concerned with the maximum scores these devices achieve on either benchmark. More realistically, I want to see what the max I can get on a fully stable, and "daily driver" set up. All you'll get in trying to get the absolute max out of your device is a fried chip and probably some burn holes in your jeans.
  9. papy72
    Offline

    papy72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any idea what a stock 2.1 Droid does?
  10. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    pure stock w/ no overclock usually 300 or so.
    clocked at 1.3 I get 750 to 820 on a 2.1 based rom.
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2010
  11. 7h3.4pp12en7ic3
    Offline

    7h3.4pp12en7ic3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    As in stock, from VZW:
    For linpack, ~3-4Mflops
    For Quadrant, ~300-400

    Each device is slightly different, though.
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2010
  12. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please don't spread misinformation. The Nexus One's Snapdragon generally tops out ~1.3GHz. There is no way in hell it OCs to 9GHz, or even 1.9GHz.

    Actually, there are no CPUs that will OC to 9GHz, mobile; PC; or otherwise.


    EDIT: I see where you got that misinformation from, but it was a hoax, designed to be funny.

    http://www.redmondpie.com/nexus-one-overclock-9ghz-9140478/

    The N1 tops out at around around 1.267GHz to be exact.
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2010
  13. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    haha that link is funny and i that would be to good to be true to have that speed on a pc
  14. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    the 9ghz turned out to be a hoax
  15. jawa6969
    Offline

    jawa6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    9ghz?!?!? At those speeds your device would know what your thinking before you do.
  16. 7h3.4pp12en7ic3
    Offline

    7h3.4pp12en7ic3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ah, i wasnt aware it was a hoax. It seemed iffy, but i dont have an n1, skimmed google, and posted what i saw. WOuld be crazy though