What does this mean?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by scott craft, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. scott craft

    scott craft Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lake Charles, LA
    Ratings:
    +8
    I am trying to install a new rom with sprecovery. I downloaded the rom, renamed it update.zip and put it on the root of the sd card. When I reboot into recovery and attempt to installed the update.zip, I get this:
    E: Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0)

    What does this mean? I am currently on my second rom since I've rooted and I've installed a theme and several kernals without this problem. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. mkthnx001

    mkthnx001 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    You didn't name it literally to "update.zip", did you? As in "update.zip.zip"?
     
  3. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Might mean you have bad blocks, an rsd lite flash should clean it up. Also feel free to post in the resque squad section next time
     
  4. scott craft

    scott craft Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lake Charles, LA
    Ratings:
    +8
    Sorry I didn't make that more clear. Just update.


    I'll try reflashing rsd lite. Thanks, I'll give an update after I try it.
     
  5. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Don't know if this will help. But I had a similar issue, I don't remember the exact error message I was getting, but it was something about "mount". I had to put the sdcard in the pc, back it up totally and then reformat it. I then put the stuff back on the sdcard and all has been well since.

    Good luck.
     
  6. mkthnx001

    mkthnx001 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Forgot to mention that; a few people also said they just kept trying to do it, and it eventually worked. :p
     
  7. scott craft

    scott craft Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lake Charles, LA
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well it went downhill from the last post. I redid rsdlite just like when I rooted the phone. Now it shows no battery and says connect to charger. I tried to restore, but I can't choose a nandroid backup. It says E: Can't mount SDCARD:/nandroid. I went into the mount options and it seems that the only thing mounted is the cache. I've seen a problem like this before on this site, but can't remember the solution. Mods feel free to move this to the rescue forum.

    Also I don't have an adapter to plug the sd card into the computer without the phone.
     
  8. scott craft

    scott craft Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lake Charles, LA
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm back in business. Left it plugged in for a while and kept trying to do a nandroid restore. Finally it worked and I've got the phone back to where it was. Thanks for the help.
     
Search tags for this page
on a phone what does update.zip mean
,
update.zip mean what
,
what does apply update from cache mean
,
what does cache to sd card mean
,
what does it mean when it says zip sd card
,

what does mount sd card mean

,
what does up time on my phone mean?
,
what does uptime mean on cell phones
,
what is mean install sdcard titan
,
what+does+update.zip+mean+on android