what does benchmarking 150 mean?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by GOON, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. GOON

    GOON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    what does benchmarking 150 mean?
    i saw it in the BB 7.6 rom.

    also i am sticking with the BB7.5 because there seems to be many buggs in 7.6.
    anyone else thoughts?
     
  2. ViciousCircle

    ViciousCircle Android Addict
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure what process SetCPU uses to benchmark, but I believe that the 150 is the number of ms to complete the benchmark process. So, the lower the number, the better. It will depend on what speed you are overclocked to as to how fast your benchmark score is.
     
  3. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Out of curiosity, do you know the stock speed benchmarks? I'm sure I could just look them up, but it's nice to make conversation :)
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    If I remember correctly it's about 450 or so. I just changed my BB7.6 down to 600 and ran a few - 400 seemed to be the average. My lowest running at 1.2 Ghz is 155.
     
  5. GOON

    GOON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is the droid factory speed? 550 mhz?
    no one is having problems with 7.6??????
     
  6. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I've read a lot of messages about 7.6 and there have been very few problems. There have a few people that could not get it to load on their Droids and I mean a few (2-4). Everyone else is having almost no problems. The only problem I've had is that it isn't reading the chip temp on my Droid. It reads the battery temp fine, but the chip temp locks up and doesn't update.

    It's a very stable rom. Prior to this my droid would not run above 1.0 Ghz. It would reboot/freeze at 1.1, 1.2 or 1.3. But this one runs smoothly and is very stable. It seems to produce no more heat than my droid did at 1.0 Ghz. I've a very happy guy. :icon_ banana:
     
  7. solorca

    solorca Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am overclocked at 800mhz and I usually get between 270-300. When I pushed it up to 1100 I averaged bwtween 160-180, and when I dropped it to 500 I was in the 500-600 range.
     
  8. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    I am running 7.6 and it is fantabulous!

    There will always be a couple people that have problems with no matter what they do. Go for it, you will be happy you did! 7.6 is the best so far!
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    yea i put 7.6 on mine yesterday and no bugs here :icon_ banana:
     
  10. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    AdamZ has released a new kernel that supports Taz's temperature mod, as well as backported fixes from 2.6.32. It also has nand prefetch enabled.

    800mhz feels like 1ghz now :)
     
  11. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    With 7.6 at 1.2 the best benchmark I had gotten was a single 155. Most were in the 160-170 range lately. Well, just a few minutes ago I got a 149. That's my new record.
     
  12. GOON

    GOON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    im still kinda confused on benchmark and how you know what your benchmark is.
    is it the min? i.e. max 1000mhz min 250 mhz?
     
Search tags for this page

banchmaking