What did I do

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global Development' started by cdm369, Sep 2, 2011.

  1. cdm369
    Offline

    cdm369 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did something to my phone d2g so back on my ally for now. Boots to moto screen but will not do anything else. What's up

    Sent from my Ally using DroidForums
  2. destin246
    Offline

    destin246 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok we cant tell u if u dont give us details lol did u try to flash a rom or what?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  3. stillwaiting
    Offline

    stillwaiting New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had the same problem after i restored back to froyo from cm7
  4. oplopk
    Offline

    oplopk New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does the boot loader works?

    Sent from my Milestone using DroidForums
  5. cdm369
    Offline

    cdm369 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do a battery pull and it goes by to the moto white screens and stays that way....its the only screen that shows up

    Sent from my Ally using DroidForums
  6. tgambitg
    Offline

    tgambitg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you get into either the bootloader (up on the physical keyboard + power) or the recovery (x on the physical keyboard + power)?

    Did you do anything right before this happened?

    We need more information to diagnose your problem.
  7. cdm369
    Offline

    cdm369 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will not allow me to get to either of those modes...accidentally selected update.zip from sd card and when it rebooted I got the moto screen....can't get to another screen any way I try
    Sent from my Ally using DroidForums
  8. tgambitg
    Offline

    tgambitg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are absolutley sure you cannot get to the bootloader using the up key on the physical keyboard and then powering on the phone while holding it? It has to be the up key as you are looking at the keyboard proper. If you can't get into the bootloader, your phone is bricked, there is nothing you can do to fix it.
  9. cdm369
    Offline

    cdm369 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will try both ways again when I get home to be sure and if I get the same result I guess its bricked
    Sent from my Ally using DroidForums
  10. cdm369
    Offline

    cdm369 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will try both procedures again when I get home to be certain....if nothing happens I guess its bricked.

    Sent from my Ally using DroidForwill tryums
  11. cdm369
    Offline

    cdm369 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It will open the bootloader....what to do now
    Sent from my Ally using DroidForums
  12. tgambitg
    Offline

    tgambitg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will it open up the recovery? (X+Power)
  13. cdm369
    Offline

    cdm369 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It powers up to a screen with thelittle android and an exclamation point

    Sent from my Ally using DroidForums
  14. tgambitg
    Offline

    tgambitg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh.. this is a good thing. at the little android and exclamation point, hit the hardware button with the magnifying glass, the one on the physical keyboard... and wipe the cache first, and see if it boots up... if it doesn't, you'll have to try a factory reset. and if THAT doesn't work, then we have to flash the phone.
  15. cdm369
    Offline

    cdm369 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried both ways and nothing...still the same screen. So I guess its time to flash.....you've been very helpful
    Sent from my Ally using DroidForums
  16. tgambitg
    Offline

    tgambitg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0