What Data Plan are you getting?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by dean.collins, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. dean.collins

    dean.collins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Are you running Microsoft Exchange Activesync though?

    I'm trying to understand if its a "contractual obligation" eg, something you should do but technically they couldn't prevent it

    OR

    It's a "Physical Requirement" eg they block activesync ports on the $29.99 plan.
     
  2. Jason

    Jason Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salinas, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    $29.99 is good enough for me
     
  3. BigTex71

    BigTex71 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Keller, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is so much misinformation out there regarding the $30 vs $45 plan.
    If you have a PERSONAL account through Verizon, you can use the $30 data plan AND you can sync with exchange.
    If you have your phone line through a BUSINESS plan, the $30 plan is now $45 (because they can charge more for businesses - just like internet service.)
    That is the ONLY difference. It is depending on whether it is a phone line account on a BUSINESS or PERSONAL account. If the rep told you differently, they are misinformed.
     
  4. Zacko

    Zacko New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can personally confirm this. I came from a storm and was paying for the $45 plan due to the company BES. This morning, I mentioned how the switch to Droid would save $15/month. The store rep told me that I still needed the $45 plan if I intended to use active sync with exchange. I told him it was my understanding that if I was on a family plan I would only be required to pay $30/month and told him to put me on the $30 plan. I got home and had absolutely no problem syncing mail, calendar and contacts with my company exchange server. You do not need the $45 plan.
     
  5. papy72

    papy72 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm hoping someone can clear up some confusion I am having over the data plans.

    My current plan is the basic $39.99 plan w/450 minutes. I am wondering: if I pick up a droid do they simply add the $30 data plan onto my account?

    I was kind of hoping I could just upgrade to the $69.99 "connect" plan, as it also gives me unlimited text messages (so I could drop my $5 250 text add-on).

    I know it's basically a wash (i.e. $39.99 + $30 vs. $69.99) but I'd still like to know what I'll need to do.
     
  6. Papakeith

    Papakeith New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I'm trying to understand why the current internet data plan I have for my voyager wouldn't be adequate for the Droid.
    Currently I'm paying $9.99 for unlimited data access on a National Family Share Plan. Why would I have to pay another 20$ for the same access?
    Can anyone help me wrap my head around the reasoning? Help.
     
  7. BigTex71

    BigTex71 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Keller, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    It could have something to do with the fact that your voyager only supported a certain protocol. With the Droid (and BlackBerry) plans, the unlimited data includes many types of protocols. So it's like unlimited internet browsing vs unlimited data. Two different balls of wax.
     
  8. Papakeith

    Papakeith New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I may have stumbled upon an answer to my own question. It appears that the Droid (for whatever reason) is not "compatible" with the Connect Plans.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Papakeith

    Papakeith New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, They do make a distinction between mobile web, and Web Browsing on the two different plans. I guess that's the difference.
     
  10. Szyslak

    Szyslak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    As others have stated, the connect plan doesn't cover data usage for smart phones. You would need your current plan, plus a $29.99 data plan for a smart phone. You would still need the $5 for 250 text add-on as well.
     
  11. cLovis_ll

    cLovis_ll Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    san francisco, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    when i got my droid today, i ask the rep if there is anymore changes on the data plan since i have the tour.. he said, i'll hva eto pay $33 including the visual voicemail.. is the visual voicemail mandatory??
     
  12. BigTex71

    BigTex71 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Keller, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. Maybe he meant "it will be $33 including the visual voicemail" instead of the "you will have to pay $33 including the visual voicemail" " part? Typical sales tactic.
     
Search tags for this page

44.99 bes android