what are the kernels for???

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ucpro, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. ucpro

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    i may sound retarted, and i looked all over the net, but i got bb 1.1, but now i see they have kernels for each oc speed. bb 1.1 is 76mb and the kernels is maybe 2mb, so what is the difference now. is bb 1.1 without the kernal only 550mhz without being able to get oc'ed? i'm used to the roms already having the oc speeds built in, so why change everything up
     
  2. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I normally put them in the microwave until they pop.
     
  3. ucpro

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    :dry::huh::wacko::wacko::icon_ nono2::unsure::icon_ nono::mad:
     
  4. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Because certain prefer certain kernels (i.e. Chevy1 or Adamz). Also including kernels in the ROM(s) was proving problematic with many phones (be it because of program conflicts or high clock speeds). This way Pete just provides the ROM(s) and the user can choose whichever kernel they prefer. Also there is not conflict with the initial load of the ROM because of a preset speed ect. Also many people want a cooked ROM but don't want a custom/cooked kernel and/or don't want to OC.
     
  5. ucpro

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    so this is basically an add-on for the rom, and if i wanna change my speed, i'll have to do the update.zip instead of going into setcpu and changing it?
     
  6. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    You will go the update.zip route for the ROM, then do the update.zip thing to flash the kernel. It is a 2 step process now. Once you have changed the kernel, you can use setCPU, otherwise your CPU will onlu operate at 550mHz.
     
  7. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    do all kernals have update.zips? I thought most had to be applied via adb shell... and you still need to go into setCPU to set it. Make sure to "autodetect"
     
  8. ucpro

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    i downloaded the 1.1 ghz and now i'm only at 800mhz on setcpu, 600 max
     
  9. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    huh? Did you try adjusting the slider? Bring it down, then put it back up. Do you have profiles on? What are they?
     
  10. ucpro

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea then it went to 600mhz. i downloaded the stevekernel for the 1ghz and it worked
     
  11. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    Over on alldroid, Pete has the following kernels listed as update.zip installable:
    AllDroid - View topic - [ROM 2.0.1] Bugless Beast V1.1 (2/22/10) STABLE
    OPTIONAL Kernels: (rename to update.zip and install using instructions below)
    -Stock 550 MHz (Already Included, Does not support Wifi Tether)
    -t3hSteve's 600 MHz
    -t3hSteve's 1 GHz
    -AdamZ's 1.1 GHz
    -DroidMod's 1.2 GHz (a.k.a. Sholes.info)
    -ChevyNo1's 10 Slot 1.2 GHz
    -ChevyNo1's 10 Slot 1.25 GHz
     
  12. voydas

    voydas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    isnt adb flash_image easier?
     
  13. ucpro

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok now the new problem is that wifi tether says that this kernel doesn't have the necessary features for tethering
    stevekernal 1ghz

    edit: all the kernals from 1.1 to 1.25 do not go above 800..the tethering works on them, but i wanted to stay at 1ghz, any suggestions as to what's going on???
     
  14. caboyzcoti

    caboyzcoti Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    go back to stock and start the entire process over
     
  15. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it? Think about this...

    Steps to install a kernel with the update.zip method:
    1). Download update.zip
    2). Move update.zip to /sdcard
    3). Reboot and install

    Steps to install a kernel with the flash_image method:
    1). Install flash_image, make it executable
    2). Download kernel image
    3). Reboot into recovery
    4). Plug into a PC
    5). Run ADB Shell
    6). Run flash_image boot kernelname.img
    7). Download whatever modules are needed with the kernel change (tiwlan_drv.ko, etc)
    8). Copy those kernels into /system/lib/modules

    The update.zip method can be done without using a computer or ADB, and the only commands needed are simple file operations - I think it's safe to say that is much easier.
     
Search tags for this page
what are kernals
,

what are kernels

,
what are the differences in the android kernels?
,
wht are kernels