What am I doing wrong?

sniper6

Reaction score
Ok, I'm sure it's totally obvious that I'm new to this. With all the thanks to Tallica and MotoCache1 I was able to root. I have a rooted Droid 1 on FRG01B 2.2. I've been trying to install SimplyStunning v4.7. What am I doing wrong? I put the zip file on my sdcard root. I booted in recovery mode, chose install, allowed update, then selected update.zip. It went through the install and said install complete but the timer bar was not finished. I then proceeded to back up and then to reboot system. Everything was fine until it barely started to spell out droid and just flashed little dots that would normally be spelling "droid" during boot. I had to take out the battery to get it to stop. Needless to say I had to start all over back to stock and root again. Where do I go from hear. I'm sure the answer is here but staying focused on what I'm looking for in a forum is not always the easiest thing to do. Thanks to all in advance for some direction to a newbie!

Sniper6

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
32GB Moto X Developers Edition
Twitter
furryvarmint
Your phone might not handle a kernel that has anything less than stock voltage -- try flashing a kernel that's listed as LV or ULV and see if it bootloops you again. If it does, do NOT panic and do anything except reboot into recovery and resintall the backup you made prior to installing the kernel.

OP
sniper6

sniper6

Reaction score
Sweet! Thank you! And just to be sure, the kernel installs in the same manner as a ROM?

Sniper6

OP
sniper6

sniper6

Reaction score
Thank you for all your help but no matter what i do something goes wrong. I have followed this step by step and I either get stuck in a bootloop or it actually powers back to the desktop but show a dead battery and can't access the Android System then powers off. I give up....

dlwhtrose

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Reaction score