Went back to stock rom stuck in bootloop? Bricked?

Discussion in 'GET~R~DONE' started by moreyos, May 23, 2011.

  1. moreyos
    Offline

    moreyos New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had Romer and Liberty on my phone but I recently nandroided back to my stock rom. Liberty was fast and all but I kept having dropped calls with my cheek hitting the button or something. Regardless of my reason to switch back to stock, I did it anyway.

    The problem I am having now is weird though, and it has nothing to do with me flashing something and my phone being bricked during that process. I went back to stock two days ago and all was well, I was even getting ridiculous battery life that I hadn't had before (I turned off data and that seemed to help a lot). But last night I was on the phone for about an hour with my gf and then when I went to see what time it was my phone was completely dark. Screen wouldn't turn on, soft keys wouldn't light up, opened keyboard did nothing... before I pulled out the battery I called it from my home phone to see if it would do anything. Nothing happened. So I pulled out the battery and it restarted fine and was working like normal.

    Now I am here at my desk at work and I haven't really been using it that much today but still enough to know it's working properly. I got a text message and I went to slide the bar to open the phone. And it locked and I couldn't slide it, then the screen went black and soft keys were off like last night. Pulled the battery and now my phone is just stuck in bootloop (not really sure what bootloop is but I'm guessing its when your phone just keeps displaying the boot animation). I tried to go into recovery mode holding x, and the android with the exclamation point popped up but none of the keys on the side would do anything, power button included.

    So I don't know what to do and I've been trying for about 20 minutes now. I don't think it is bricked but maybe one of you guys know what the problem is?
  2. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Don't know exactly what the problem is. It shouldn't be due to restoring stock. I would try an sbf and see if that helps but that's all I can think of.

    Sent from my Angelic Droid 2 Global
  3. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Yep, sbf then boot into recovery and wipe data/factory reset. Should fix it. If not then its a hardware issue.
  4. moreyos
    Offline

    moreyos New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nooooo I dont wanna have to SBF.. I mean I will but that sucks I have to do it.

    What did I lose? Just the text messages and recent calls and notes, apps and personalization like how my homescreen was set up?

    Follow this link?

    Droid 2 Global SBF File (2.4.29) Full and RSDLite

    Edit: This RSDLite thing...maybe I'll understand more when I get to it (I don't have my USB with me, and ironically I made the conscience decision before work to bring my charger over my USB). But how do I launch it if it's never installed on my phone before? Or is that a PC application...that'd make more sense.
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
  5. chrisl20
    Offline

    chrisl20 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    Sbf will bring you to 'out of the box' fresh, so yah, ull lose ur calls and txts, but, there are backup apps n the market for calls and txts, and ur apps should b synced to ur google accnt....sbf'ing isn't a big deal...its more of a nuisance than anything. But yah, I believe that's the link....ull need rsdlite4.9 the correct moto drivers and tbhs official d2g sbf....be sure to read up on the exact process....and use a computer w usb 2.0 ports...
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I don't know why they are telling you to sbf. You can stay rooted and come out of the bootloop if you go into clockwork and do a wipe. You'll still lose your stuff but that should stop the bootloop. If it doesn't then sbf.
  7. moreyos
    Offline

    moreyos New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried to go into clockwork, I can continue to try but each time I did it just froze before actually getting into clockwork. Just stayed on the Android with the exclamation point.
  8. chrisl20
    Offline

    chrisl20 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    Did u hit the search button when u went to stock recovery and the android w tthe! Was on the screen...the magnifying glass on ur qwerty....and, hook, I told him to sbf, because I was unsure of the method he used to ditch liberty....when I restored a nandroid of stock, I kept coming up w issues like his, and I ended up saying 'hell w it' and sbf'ing... ..but, I have little patience for my phone being screwy, especially when I need it the most..sorry for skipping steps
  9. moreyos
    Offline

    moreyos New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Didn't hit the search button until now but that did something.. gave me the option to reboot system now, apply sdcard:update.zip, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition..

    Should I wipe data? Wipe cache too? Maybe that'll work.
  10. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Wipe data and cache from that screen and then try to reboot. Should work.
  11. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    The reason i said to was I assumed if they knew how to get to the ! screen then they would know to press search..... apparently not
  12. moreyos
    Offline

    moreyos New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, didn't work...still boot looping. I'll SBF when I get home from work. Thanks for all the help and reminding me about the search button.
  13. bdsullivan76
    Offline

    bdsullivan76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have had this same issue. The only thing I could figure it to be was the boot animations. When you flash liberty it changes both animations. The first time I flashed had the same thing happen. Then I flashed it again used root tools to set stock animations and it never happened again. Don't know if it was truely relavent but like I said it never happened after that. Hope you get it figured out.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  14. moreyos
    Offline

    moreyos New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Phone isn't doing ANYTHING now. I went and updated the drivers on the Motorola application on my computer, it was connected to the RSD Lite fine. But I went through the process and then all the sudden it left the bootloader screen. And it is not responding to anything. Idk what to do now ?

    Edit: Hold on... plugged in to wall charger and it turned on...stressfull as hell..

    I have a question mark in the battery screen, it should have been fairly charged before I attempted to SBF...plus it was plugged in to my USB. I'll leave it charging but I'll check with my brothers D2G when he gets home from work in a bit. Any ideas whats happening to my phone or if I'm screwed??
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
  15. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    \
    Plug it into the wall, not the usb if you think it stopped because the battery was too low. The wall charger gives it more juice. You really should SBF with almost a full battery just in case. Good luck.
  16. moreyos
    Offline

    moreyos New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wish that were the problem...it isn't holding a charge. It was on the charger for over an hour and it still has no charge. Once my brother gets home I'm swapping my battery into his and seeing how much charge there is... if I have to go back to Verizon and they consider this a battery issue, will they find out that I had my phone rooted/flashed with a different rom? I did drop the phone the other day and it turned out fairly bad for the back of my phone you can push the panel where the flash and camera is and it will go up and down a small amount, so that might have done it...

    I have insurance on my phone. And yeah I know if I bricked my phone that's my fault...but I did nothing out of the ordinary, in fact I went back to stock. I just have remnants of Clockwork, root uninstaller pro, and z4root that I'd be worried about.
  17. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    If your brothers battery works that would be ideal. Or just charge yours in his phone. When the batteries get completely discharged i believe your regular wallcharger cant charge it because of something to do with the voltages. If its just the battery that shouldnt be a big problem if you have access to another one. Keep us posted if his battery works for you. It should. It doesnt sound like you did anything to brick the phone and its very hard to do anything to where an SBF wont fix it anyway.
  18. moreyos
    Offline

    moreyos New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm charging my battery on his phone now. It wouldn't do anything when I put my battery in his but his battery started mine up (still bootlooped though). Then I figured I'd try charging my battery in his phone and it showed I had 0%, which I have no clue how it died so fast because it was off/bootlooping but not forever and I even plugged it in. If mine starts to charge I'm gonna finish charging his battery, take the battery for now (while charging my battery in his phone so he's not without a phone), SBF, then hopefully all will be well.

    Edit: Battery began to charge in brother's phone. Letting his battery get up to 100% (it was at 50% and I'm in a rush mine is only at 20%), then I'll SBF with a full battery. Hopefully the reason my phone doesn't charge right now is because it's messed up. If its still not charging after the SBF it will have to be a hardware issue and I'll use my insurance to get myself a new D2G at Verizon store.
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
  19. bdsullivan76
    Offline

    bdsullivan76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The battery will not charge while in recovery, bootloader or if its bootlooping. That's why most will suggest you fully charge your battery b4 flashing. It is suggested to have at least 80% before sbfing. Just for future referance.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  20. moreyos
    Offline

    moreyos New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First time flashing SBF failed said something about error erasing subscription..then it froze. I'm trying it again, I'm getting worried though.

    Edit: Failure again! Same error. Anyone SBF before who can help me out?

    Im on google chat andrewmorey@gmail.com

    Edit #2: Does this mean my phone is bricked? I did it again and I downloaded the 2.4.33 SBF and that didn't work either. Would Verizon be able to help if I can't figure this out by tomorrow after work? I'll be at a computer majority of the day so I'll be attempting this tomorrow as well.
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
Search tags for this page
boot loop bricked android
,
d2g boot loop after flashing a rom
,
flashed stock rom android now home button wont work bootloop
,
how to go back to stock rom when stuck in bootloop
,

interface ap-os error erasing subscriber unit

,
motorola photon 4g boot loop
,
phone stuck on boot animation is it bricked?
,
rooted droid x2 stuck at boot animation
,
samsung droid charge stuck in boot loop animation