Well I got a Droid.. already frustrated.. please help

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by xythil, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I am following the videos at http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ha...android-backups-custom-roms-etc-easy-way.html

    I plug my droid phone in.. nothing pops up. I cant find it in explorer anywhere.

    I go to my phone I unmount the SD card... to see if i remounting it would fix my problem but there is no option for this.

    I am very frustrated at the moment. can somone tell me how ot remount my SD card and how to access it through my droid using my USB cable?
  2. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,634
    Likes Received:
    1,111
    Trophy Points:
    113
    what rom are you trying to flash
  3. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,634
    Likes Received:
    1,111
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Obviously you trying to root so I can help you here on your thread. Personally I rooted with droidmod because it is faster and easier and you can use it to install other roms later.
  4. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I was planning on trying out black android 7 but I havnt even rooted my device yet

    I cant even ACCESS the sd card yet.
  5. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    so you mounted the phone to your PC and nothing pops up? that means you need to change the drive letter to something else as its already used on your computer

    - right click My Computer
    - click Manage
    - click on Disk Management
    - right click on the removable storage icon that youll see when the phone is mounted
    - select 'change drive letter and paths'
    - pick a different drive letter
    - enjoy :)
  6. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,634
    Likes Received:
    1,111
    Trophy Points:
    113
    did you mount your phone
  7. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    It sounds like you have windows 7
  8. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    How do I mount the phone?

    Also how do i remount the SD card for that mtter. I unmounted it in an attempt to fix this problem
  9. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,634
    Likes Received:
    1,111
    Trophy Points:
    113
    soon as you plug your phone in to ur cmptr u will get a 3 prong item in notification lbar. pull down your notification panel click on usb connected click on mount
  10. rkeller62
    Offline

    rkeller62 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Settings->SD card and phone storage
    If that is where you unmounted your SD card the option should now be to mount it.

    To see SD card from pc, just plug usb cable into pc and then your Droid. You should get a notification on your Droid in the notification bar. When you select it there is an option to mount it for your pc. Once you select that you will see it like any other flash drive.
  11. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    LOL nevermind, disregard my post. i thought you at least had the damn thing mounted haha! slide down your notification bar on top of the phone, click the USB dialog and click mount
  12. stormluvinlez
    Offline

    stormluvinlez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    When you plug it in does it say USB connected on your phone? If it does then you swipe downwards the USB icon located in the status bar. You should then see -USB connected, select to copy files to/from your computer. Touch it and a box should pop up asking if you want to "mount", select mount and it should come up on your computer. Make sure you safely remove hardware from icon tray on your pc before disconnecting your phone, then select unmount on your phone.Hope this helps
  13. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    there is no mount option in options ;(
  14. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,634
    Likes Received:
    1,111
    Trophy Points:
    113

    go into settings, sd card & phone storage
  15. dredge
    Offline

    dredge New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    his computer doesnt recognize the droid
    install moto drivers maybe? call verizon?
  16. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    alright guys i got it mounted to my pc. and mounting it remounted the sD card apparently in the card

    So now I can access the SD card from my PC
  17. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,634
    Likes Received:
    1,111
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Can I make a suggestion to save you time (unless you want to do it the long way for expreience) use droid mod to install everything for you then just install the ultimate droid 7.0 rom into your nandroid folder and then install the rom that way. So much faster IMO, but either way you choose I will help you the best way I can.
  18. SANhacker
    Offline

    SANhacker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Sorry, but this thread is priceless.

    You don't go to options to mount. You go to the notification bar and pull it down. It then gives you an option to share the contents of your SDcard with your computer. Select the option and then you will receive a message asking for permission. Grant permission and you are good to go.

    I've been there and done that. To be contrite, I tried the same thing and FAIL was smattered across my forehead. Actually, it is now a seven head as I go through the years.

    Bst of Luck and hope this helps.....
  19. DessoThumbs
    Offline

    DessoThumbs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    not to be mean or anything, but you need to work with your droid and learn it a little before trying to root.

    plug it in to your computer and swipe the notification bar down from the top and select "mount".
  20. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    when i try to download the droid root helper tools I get an "unknown" cant download on this device error
Search tags for this page
hac mode
,
hac mode samsung galaxy
,

what does hac mode mean

,
what is hac mode on android