Well hi...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Gremlin, Feb 18, 2010.

1. Gremlin

Gremlin Active Member

Ratings:
    +102
    I have owned a droid since November.. I am a noob at hacking and I have been reading this site : Root Your Droid and ended up coming here. I also visit androidforums.com as well...

I am slowly deciding to root my phone.. But I have no idea what ROM to use? Do not know what differences there are.. I am not planning to overclock the phone as of yet.. may be later on

I was intending to root my phone for the Buuf Theme but found out it is for the eris..

Is there any links I am missing that shows any differences between the roms? If it is a stupid question I apologise.. Any guidance would be gladly appreciated it...

Thanks

2. rebornlaxer

rebornlaxer Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Go to the market and download SholesModUpdater. Find the thread that tells you how to use it. Get Bugless Beast it is by far the best rom. It also comes with a wifi tether that turns your phone into wireless internet modem and the ability to overclock which makes your phone way faster. Just make sure that when or if you overclock that you monitor your droids temperature because you could fry your phone.

3. rebornlaxer

rebornlaxer Member

Ratings:
    +0
    The sholesmodupdater app roots and installs roms on your phone. i left that out of the last post on accident. haha

4. mwhartman

mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

Ratings:
    +12
    Welcome!

Like you, I thought I wanted to root but I had no idea which process to follow or which rom to install.

After reading as many threads as my small old mind could handle, I finally decided that I wanted to use a process that provide me with control. therefore, I used the process developed by Matth3W
    (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ha...ng-only-sprecovery-terminal-emulator-zip.html)