Welcome to the Droid Ultra Forums!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Ultra' started by cereal killer, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. recDNA

    recDNA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    It brightens up my day to immediately see a flashing led telling me about EVERY notification I have as soon as I pull my phone

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
     
  2. jkaod

    jkaod Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Ratings:
    +498
    Thanks! That sheds a lot more light on the situation. Sorry, that was really bad. Sounds like it does what I need it to. I just remember the old thunderbolt. The notification light would stay on for about 5 minutes and then turn off completely so if you missed the initial notification, you never knew it until you woke up the phone.
     
  3. TheOldFart

    TheOldFart Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +27
    Is it correct that active notifications will not work if a lock screen is set? I guess you could have a lock code set and still see the active notifications and then the phone will require the code after you swipe the screen, but can it work that way. I would also assume that the OK Google Now thing cannot work with a lock code.
     
  4. recDNA

    recDNA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    You were in the dark about your Tbolt. I rooted mine and with light flow used green for gmail, yellow for texts, orange for email through light flow app. You had to root for it to work once the gb update came through.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +315
    The ok google now thing requires the pin to work. The Moto X has a workaround with that clip thing, whatever it's called, but the Droid lineup does not. Kind of a bummer... Active Notifications work normal - like you said, it simply adds a step between the swipe and the app you're entering.

    edit: the camera "flick" works from a secured state as well and simply doesn't let you look at anything in the gallery taken before the phone was locked
     
  6. bkdodger

    bkdodger Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11,210
    Likes Received:
    7,261
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +7,576
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 10+
    @jntdroid good stuff going on here with you and this phone...I like you testing stuff...
     
  7. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +315
    This will be it for awhile... I've already tried a One when we were with Tmobile and know the Note 3 will be too big for my preferences. So unless there's something else big on the horizon that I'm forgetting, the Maxx was the last that I wanted to check out this year. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    13,566
    Likes Received:
    5,937
    Trophy Points:
    1,263
    Ratings:
    +6,000
    Thanks for that insight, learning it didn't have a light bothered me. Dirty greasy hands touching a phone draws angst in me. Nice to know it does "blink" the screen. Back on my list of must haves.

    If it's not HD it might as well be a newspaper.
     
  9. TheOldFart

    TheOldFart Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +27
    There is something that confuses me about available memory on the Verizon site. In the specs it says that 8.2GB of the memory on the Maxx is used for device operation. For the Ultra and Mini it says that 5.9GB is used for device operation. I wonder if this is a mistake or if the Maxx has more features and/or bloatware. I'm thinking this is just a mistake, but I'll have to check at the Verizon store tomorrow.
     
  10. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +315
    I don't know if this helps or not:

    2013-08-22 16.16.55.png

    If "Android OS" represents what you're talking about, then 5.9GB seems more on target since the phone has been in use for a bit now.
     
  11. TheOldFart

    TheOldFart Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +27
    Here are the quotes from the Verizon site on the phone specs pages:

    "The Droid Maxx is configured with a total of 32GB of internal flash memory. Of this, 23.8 GB is available for user content (general storage, application downloads and data). The remaining 8.2 GB is used for device operation."
    "The Droid Ultra is configured with a total of 16GB of internal flash memory. Of this, 10.1 GB is available for user content (general storage, application downloads and data). The remaining 5.9 GB is used for device operation."
    "The Droid Mini is configured with a total of 16GB of internal flash memory. Of this, 10.1 GB is available for user content (general storage, application downloads and data). The remaining 5.9 GB is used for device operation."

    I guess I'll have to wait until check the available memory on the actual phones.
     
  12. WolfR1

    WolfR1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    That could be the difference in file system overhead. Double the size potentially means double the file system overhead. The difference between the two is 2.3GB which could translate to 1.15GB of file system overhead. Seems like a lot to me tho that's the only reason I could see a difference between the 32 and 16GB flash setups.
     
Search tags for this page
droid ultra forum
,
droid ultra forums
,
droid ultra led light
,

droid ultra led notification

,
droid ultra notification led
,
droid ultra notification light
,
led light not working on droid ultra
,
led light on droid ultra
,
led on droid ultra
,
no led light on droid ultra