Weird question (about phone compatibility)

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by TechPB, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. TechPB

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay so i know this is a droid phone forum, yes i do own a droid, and im proud of it, but my girlfriend owns the i*hone, well owned it. she recently got it stolen and she can get a new one fairly cheep but the catch is she is on at&t and its a Verizon i*hone. She and the person she talked to seemed to think that it will work with at&t ? am i missing something but i don't think it will work.. and i want to make sure she doesn't buy it and then cant use it, so anyone 100% they know the answer? Once again i doubt they will but im not 100% sure The answer would be much appreciated! thanks all

    -TechPB
     
    #1 TechPB, Aug 15, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2011
  2. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,592
    Likes Received:
    1,666
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,808
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    Verizon is a CDMA network and at&t is gsm. So I doubt it would work.


    Sent from the Unbrickable DROID
     
  3. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    Why not contact Verizon or ATT directly.

    Sent from my DROID 3 directly to YOU!
     
  4. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,592
    Likes Received:
    1,666
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,808
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    +1

    Sent from the Unbrickable DROID
     
  5. TechPB

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why? because she said that the guy at the at&t store said it would work but i have a feeling he has no idea what he's talking about..
     
  6. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    Why not? We're just trying to help you here. That is probably the best option. And I suggest you call. Since most of the reps don't have a clue about things like this.

    Sent from my DROID 3 directly to YOU!
     
  7. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15


    Sent from my DROID 3 directly to YOU!
     
  8. swikk

    swikk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Verizon iPhone will NOT work with at&t... Period.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  9. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,592
    Likes Received:
    1,666
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,808
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    You could even call Verizon and ask if am at&t iPhone would work on their network. If it won't work one way, it won't work the other.

    Sent from the Unbrickable DROID
     
  10. swikk

    swikk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's the radios and the networks they run on. Verizon's network is CDMA their iPhone is built w/ a cdma only radio, AT&T's is GSM. Even unlocked they are not at all cross-compatible.

    There is talk that iPhone 5 may be "global" ie. Multi-band radio. But the 4 is not. As to the 5... that's a case of speculation for discussion in another forum on another site.

    Btw. I was working as tier 2 tech support @ Verizon when they released the iPhone. So for this particular discussion that's as official its going to get w/o dialling 611 and getting bumped up to tech twice.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
    #10 swikk, Aug 16, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011
  11. cobjones

    cobjones Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It will not work... their networks are not even close to compatible.

    You can call and waste 30 minutes, but I promise it won't.

    I am also suprised by how only one or two people before me knew this.

    Sent from Cyanodroid 2