Weird Issue Here

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by guest2236, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. guest2236
    Offline

    guest2236 guest

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I kept my D2G in my pocket today. When I retrieved it, it was acting a little weird... Flashing colors and text. I rebooted the phone and noticed that under the status bar (upper right hand corner)-- there is some kind of debugging/activity script running; it looks like this:

    0.23/0.19/0.53
    com.vtm.verizon
    system_server

    This little box updates whenever anything happens-- how do I turn it off?
  2. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,612
    Likes Received:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Hmmm. Sounds like your body contact with the touch screen may have "selected" and "activated" a debugging mode. Also, the various flashing of colors & text may be due to moisture/humidity again brought on by being in your pocket.

    A reboot should resolve the debugging mode, and a little time out of the warm and moist pocket area should resolve the other issue.
  3. guest2236
    Offline

    guest2236 guest

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, the colors and flashing are gone. But the 'debugging' mode is still there.
  4. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Settings, Development options, CPU usage.
  5. guest2236
    Offline

    guest2236 guest

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm really sorry I'm getting nothing...

    Settings, Applications, Development -- has no CPU options.

    I am running CM7.1, but that does not affect the native Android options... Or at least I thought it didn't.
  6. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    There are no “native Android options”.

    It's somewhere near the About phone section, I think. I don't have CM7 at the moment, but the option is definitely available there.

    I've just went to the repostory and here are some parts of the source code for CM7 (namely strings from the XML files for en-GB localisation):

    <string name="development_settings_title" msgid="215179176067683667">"Developer options"</string>
    <string name="development_settings_summary" msgid="1815795401632854041">"Set options for app development"</string>
    <string name="show_cpu_usage" msgid="2389212910758076024">"Show CPU usage"</string>
    <string name="show_cpu_usage_summary" msgid="2113341923988958266">"Screen overlay showing current CPU usage"</string>

    So you need Developer options, Show CPU usage.

    But since you didn't find anything like that on the main Settings menu and you looked for it really, really, really hard, your build is probably somehow tweaked to exclude it.
  7. guest2236
    Offline

    guest2236 guest

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all your help. I just came to that same conclusion, after looking again in the CM7 options...
  8. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Disregard this.

    You should have Dev Tools app available in your app drawer. That app should have a “Show processes” option.
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2012
  9. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    I completely forgot they integrated the Development settings into Settings somewhere in CM9, and in CM7 it's in the app, Dev Tools.

    That app is also probably the culprit behind your screen acting weird.
  10. guest2236
    Offline

    guest2236 guest

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, thanks. It was right there in the app drawer. Just went to Development Setting (from Dev Tools) and turn off show processes... :)
Search tags for this page
android system server display in top right corner
,

android upper right corner text

,
cm7 show cpu usage
,
droid razr phone strange words at top right of screen
,

gps flashing acting weird android

,
screen color on s4 is acting strange
,
some kind of scripts running in the right-hand corner of my
,
system server message showing up on top right screen htc rez
,
system server on top right of sprint flash
,
the screen on my droid 4 is flashing weird colors
,
weird text on screen android
,

what is scteen overlay showing current cpu usage?