1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Webtop without accessories?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by Arekku, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. Arekku
    Offline

    Arekku New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know if it will be possible for the bionic to run the webtop interface without shelling out $40/100/300? Just use the basic HDMI interface and enable webtop. Shouldn't it be that easy (possibly with a mod or something) or do the accessories actually have something in them that webtop needs, and not just a chip that says "Start webtop".

    This would be great so we wouldn't have to shell out $40 minimum to use this feature. (which is what Motorola wants us to do)
  2. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    It would be nice. At least they have the $40 option for us normal people that already have a laptop and don't need the big one.
  3. darkmatter
    Offline

    darkmatter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can connect bluetooth mouse and keyboard to the d3 (I would assume you can bionic as well). When you do so, you get a cursor for the mouse.that with hdmi might be what you're looking for. Its not webtop, but close.

    I wonder if this a moto or android thing. If moto only, maybe the mouse/keyboard drivers for webtop works outside of webtop.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  4. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm thinking that the webtop adapter might contain flash memory that actually holds the webtop OS (a Linux distro). In other words, I believe it may not be a simple port replicator, but rather a flash drive/port replicator combo. Otherwise, I can think of absolutely NO reason why it would be needed.
  5. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You'd be wrong. It's on the phone.
  6. joebetsill
    Offline

    joebetsill New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's needed to get you to spend at least $30 to unlock the full potential of the phone you've already paid at least $250 for. :/

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  7. skaman9876
    Offline

    skaman9876 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The one guy figured it out with his cardock hack where he modded his existing cardock and added an micro hdmi to it and it now gives him the webtop option. So it is possible but just curious if there are other ways around it.
  8. darkmatter
    Offline

    darkmatter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Confirmed, you can hook up a bluetooth mouse and keyboard (yes,multiple devices).

    This thing could be a desktop replacement for most people.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  9. BlueSami
    Offline

    BlueSami New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Citrus Heights
    Which mouse and keyboard do you have

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  10. darkmatter
    Offline

    darkmatter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I first got a random mouse/keyboard combo, rocketfish ($20for both). The mouse paired just fine, but I couldn't get keyboard to pair. So I got the motorola xoom/atrix keyboard. It paired fine, then I tried the mouse while the keyboard was connected, and it worked. Then I verified both were working, used the mouse to open up a text message, then started typing. Score!

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  11. BlueSami
    Offline

    BlueSami New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Citrus Heights
    Nice ill have to check that out.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  12. Rude374
    Offline

    Rude374 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just paired up my Logitech DiNovo Keyboard and Mouse no problem.... works fine. I'm going to pick up an HDMI cable later today to play around with. The only hitch is that it doesn't prompt you to enter the pin on the keyboard. When the phone prompt you for a pin do it then enter the same pin + <enter> on the keyboard and then it says 'Connected to HID' in the bluetooth manager and its all set.

    Rudy

  13. mp3ster
    Offline

    mp3ster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It seems all you have to do is have the hdmi and power adapter plugs in to get webtop to function.
  14. jacobrv
    Offline

    jacobrv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, that's definitely not doing it for me. I just tried because i was super hopeful that something that simple would do it. Now the regular dock + hdmi cable maybe, but just charger + hdmi, doesn't look like it.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  15. skaman9876
    Offline

    skaman9876 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was just looking through clockwork mod recovery... and on the menu for Mounts and Storage there is an option to /mount Webtop.... I haven't played around with it but i wonder if this would at all help our journey of accessing Webtop without hacking up one or both of our docks.
  16. jacobrv
    Offline

    jacobrv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I doubt that would be of much use. That is just going to be where the mini-ubuntu, or whatever this really is, is kept. The key is going to be in editing the APKs to 1) show the proper menu option all the time, and 2) remove the dock check. This is what they did for the Atrix, but the problem is that every version of the phone has had different files for this. On three different carriers the Atrix required 3 different (though similar) hacks to get it to work. After doing some digging around it looks like the Atrix people were probably actually de-compiling the APKs, editing the dalvik byte-code, and recompiling. I was poking around in the byte-code but I couldn't find anything that stood out to me. Though I've never done this kind of work before. I'm mostly a Java/AS3 coder. One thing about it is that I ran diffs on the files from the bionic and the edited Atrix ones and some of them where totally different, not just little changes. And they didn't even have all the same files. So it could be a fair amount of work to get this up and going. I think the best bet really would be to have the guy(s) who did the Atrix take a look at it, since they already know what they are looking for. But I don't know if they have any interest. Or if they could at least give us an idea of what we are looking for. I would ask him/them myself but the dalvik byte-code is totally foreign to me so even if they gave me some starting points I probably wouldn't be able to finish. My closest experience is MIPS assembly, and even that is nothing alike.

    I'm still keeping my fingers crossed that somebody figures this out soon. I'm probably going to just spend the $30 and pick up the little adapter here soon, but I would really like to keep 1 less thing in my backpack.

    EDIT: Here is the thread on the Atrix one btw. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=980193&page=1
  17. cbalde04
    Offline

    cbalde04 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really think it can be simpler than that. As you see from the guy who installed it in his car, he used a standard HDMI cord and the motorola docks. This tells me that the micro usb cord just needs modified to supply the correct voltage to the correct pin to tell the device that it is "docked" instead of just "charging". Now there is a small circuit board in the docking accessories, but I think thats just to regulate voltage to each pin. It doesnt seem large or sophisticated enough to contain "data" to tell the device to activate webtop.
    Unfortunately I do not own the dock to be able to investigate. They also offer an HD dock with 3 usb inputs and an hdmi output. Does this HD Station offer webtop access?
    Bottom line, the people at Motorola Mobility are @Holes for going out of their way to block access without owning additional accessories.
    Ideas/Comments anyone? I really don't want to give them the satisfaction of purchasing these unnecessary peripherals. First they promised Bionic in the spring, then they wait until september to release and charge extra for access to whats already installed on the phone?
  18. jacobrv
    Offline

    jacobrv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, hardware mods may be simpler, but I would prefer to have both hardware and software solutions. Unless maybe we could build a hardware solution into the phone instead of the dock or cable. And yes, the dock with the usb ports gives webtop by default, no mods. That, the $30 crap one, and the laptop dock all do. Then the car and standard home ones can be modified to do it.

    Yeah, i agree it was a dick move locking webtop to their hardware, but at the same time, this is their own feature thats not (currently) a part of the android platform so its not like they are taking something away. At least they gave us a $30 option. The atrix didnt get that. Im glad to see that moto is trying to inovate, and im willing to support that, i just wish they weren't as greedy.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  19. Kingdombuilder
    Offline

    Kingdombuilder New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sure that you are right on this note. I'm sure it is just a matter of supplying voltage to right pin. That is how the car dock works as well. It knows that it is in a car dock by voltage supplied to the right pin. I made a car dock for a windows base phone before and that is all there was to it. As i messed around with the Droid X I found the same thing. I see that there is a little portable device that can be used in place of the HD Station to get the webtop app working. I'm willing to bet the ranch all it does is supply voltage to a combination of pins at the same time or just a single one to make the App option appear. To be very honest I had my Bionic sinse the first day it released and i just found out about the Webtop App today...LOL! Now I'm on a mission cause this will compete with my tablet by only having one device to play with.

    Keep in mind I'm not saying software mods won't work, but I like to be able to trigger the app as designed to prevent any unnecessary problems.

    Looking on youtube I found this video:

Search tags for this page

bionic webtop without dock

,
can i use motorola webtop without adapter
,
how to enable webtop without hdmi bionic
,
using webtop without a dock