WebOS Like Task Switcher

Discussion in 'Android News' started by WenWM, Oct 23, 2010.

  1. WenWM
    Offline

    WenWM Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota


    If you have ever looked at WebOS with an envious eye aimed at its great task switching ability, there is no need to anymore, Android can do it. In a recent development over at XDA, a member produced a freeware application that gives you WebOS like task switching abilities with the inclusion of a great gesture based app launcher, and more. The simply installed application allows you to set it as your home screen for those that have unrooted devices; otherwise you can set it as your default task switcher.

    Now if that interests you, look it up on the app store, or appbrain (if you use it).
    Original XDA thread
  2. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Looks pretty cool. Didn't really work on my droid though. Double tapping home wouldn't bring it up.
  3. Predator04
    Offline

    Predator04 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome! Thank you!
  4. Krish
    Offline

    Krish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks horrible on Fascinate. The Screens are blurry.
  5. Krish
    Offline

    Krish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Edit its still doing randoms stuff. Blurry previews are gone but it wont open when home is pressed.
  6. js0724
    Offline

    js0724 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice "news" story. First time ever I've had to perform a physical battery pull. Not to mention the fact it used 20% battery and over 4 mins. of CPU usage in the 5 minutes I used it. Home double tap did not work as described. Previews were blurry at best even with root. Would not uninstall without a second (normal this time) reboot. Rooted Droid TUD 1.0.0 default slayher 1ghz kernel.

    That being said, it is a cool concept. Will be keeping my eye on this one, but from a far distance at this point.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Gotta say this didn't really do it for me meh
  8. RyanPm40
    Offline

    RyanPm40 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Doesn't seem to work with my launcherpro. It only opens sometimes, otherwise it kinda like zooms int he screen and takes me back to home everytime I hit the Home button.
  9. caboyzcoti
    Offline

    caboyzcoti New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    took some tweaking but i got it to work nicely with my droid, i have it so that its my home launcher cause double tap wouldnt work and when it started to show signs it might work that way it would force close. but now as my home launcher it looks nice, gives room for more randomly used apps in the shaded dock, and if i hit home once in the card view it just takes my back to my adw home, i almost uninstalled it but im glad i had some patience with it cause its actually really slick with my cm6 d1 with slayher 1gz kernel, and if your rooted the cards will become high quality and then sometimes they wont, i think ive noticed that when u back out of an app they are blurry and when u hit the home button they are clear. not sure about that one yet tho.
  10. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    works on my droid



    also it asked for root permissions i wonder why
  11. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    never mind work 20% of the time will probably get updated though
  12. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    hmmm...i had the exact same problem that ryan mentioned (a couple posts up)..i tried it with launcherpro. I think it asks for root permission so it basically takes a screen shot of whatever other apps you're in so that when you're flipping through screens, the pics are clear. Otherwise, on a nonrooted phone, they're blurred. Thats what i think anyway.
  13. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Working just fine for me. Seems to be a slight memory hog, but nothing major. No homescreen redraws, just other apps having to load again.

    Sent from my Droid
  14. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ya that's the conclusion I came to, not that it worked

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  15. gonnadie4thegov
    Offline

    gonnadie4thegov New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    i was having the same problems as everyone else but i did this and it works so instead of going to normal home screen it goes to this and then if i hit home again it goes to the normal home screen. Works smooth for me on my D2 and rarely are the pics blurry. Hopefully will iron out the bugs in the next update
  16. Krish
    Offline

    Krish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My same thought at first. The trick is to manually open up the App. Go to settings and uncheck double tap to open. After that it should open up after you press home. Hope that helps.
  17. keyblade
    Offline

    keyblade New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks cool, but consistently tries to open then reverts to ADW. Even when I have it set to be the main launcher in its settings.
  18. tofasttafuri
    Offline

    tofasttafuri New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is anyone having a problem where your wallpaper is squeezed behind the cards?
  19. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Change the delay between double tapping the home button to around 500, then double tap it slowly.
  20. jamesw1125
    Offline

    jamesw1125 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cards are blurry on my droid 1 and it is rooted, like the idea, fix the blurriness, and it will be great
Search tags for this page

android webos launcher

,

android webos task switcher

,
card switcher android
,
webos adw theme
,

webos android launcher

,
webos android theme
,

webos launcher android

,

webos launcher for android

,
webos like cards app android
,
webos like task switcher android
,
webos like task switcher for android
,
webos style android launcher
,
webos style launcher for android
,
webos task switcher
,

webos task switcher android