Weatherbug Widget not showing picture of weather

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by Skurvy_Pirate, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been using the Weatherbug app and widget since I got my phone in November. Just recently I have noticed that the widget is not longer displaying the picture of the weather. The temperature and location and that stuff is still showing and working, but the picture isn't showing up.

    I have tried clearing the app cache and data as well as reinstalling it and nothing seems to work. Anyone have this problem or any ideas on how to fix it?
     
  2. ValkF6

    ValkF6 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    At the bottom of the configure menu for WB, there's a "hide weather icon" item that if checked, does not display the weather icon. Uncheck that box.
     
  3. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, I'm not seeing that setting. Clicking the setting button on the widget brings up location and colter settings. The settings in the app itself are for update frequency, notifications, unit type, etc.

    Which settings area is it under?
     
  4. drowe

    drowe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe that is Beautiful Home. To allow using the live wallpapers without having two suns.
     
  5. ValkF6

    ValkF6 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which settings area is it under?

    The next-to-last entry in the "configure" menu is "Hide Weather Icon." Make sure that is not checked.
     
  6. drowe

    drowe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    There isn't a "configure" menu in WeatherBug. There also isn't any way to toggle the picture in WeatherBug. I'd suggest uninstalling and re-installing. That seems to fix a lot of issues.
     
  7. ValkF6

    ValkF6 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the paid version and it indeed has a configure menu and a way to toggle the weather picture.
     
  8. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I click on the little gear on the widget I get to the Configure Widget screen, but like I said before, there are two tabs, Location and Color. Location only allows you to set which location the widget is using and Color allows you to set the background color and text color and if you want to display a widget background. That is all the options I have.

    I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling a few times, still not fixed. I am going to try uninstalling then looking on my SD card for WeatherBug stuff and erasing that too then reinstalling. I'll repost with results.
     
  9. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still no success. There was a weird issue when I installed and restarted it showed up again so I installed again and I thought that would fix it but no dice.

    I got a support reply from WeatherBug that suggested I try reinstalling and sent me links to some apks but they didn't work either.

    I'm starting to wonder is it's an issue with BB0.4.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. drowe

    drowe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    It isn't an issue with BB, it is an issue with "compatibility mode". I had BB .4 on for a while and noticed the full screen didn't draw right. I had unchecked the compatibility checkbox in the settings. Once I checked it back, the full screen looked right again. This may be the same issue, I didn't run the widget. I can't remember where the compatibility mode checkbox is, but it is in BB .4 and the Simply Stunning I'm running now.

    David
     
  11. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    That seemed to be the problem! Except mine was already checked.

    In Spare Parts I unchecked compatibility mode, then installed WeatherBug. The widget displayed properly so i rechecked contact mode and it seems to be working fine.

    I wonder how that got messed up.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  12. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    This issue keeps coming back. Had anyone else run into this? I thought is was fixed but it is back and I can't seem to get it right again.

    I may just try a fresh install of the OS.

    Sent from my Droid
     
Search tags for this page
can you change the background picture on weatherbug
,
how do i get the weather bug app to display the temperature
,
how to fix weatherbug widget android
,
how to get weatherbug app as background on droid
,
how to set weatherbug icon on phone
,
weather bug won't show photos
,

weatherbug gadget not working

,
weatherbug widget not showing
,
weatherbug widget not working
,
why isn't the time and picture of the weather showing up on