Weak 3G signal?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ICANSEEYOU7687, Dec 28, 2010.

  1. ICANSEEYOU7687
    Offline

    ICANSEEYOU7687 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well im back home from college, and I noticed my 3G signal has been abnormally weak back in my home town... (and possibly at college too, but since its a major city with more towers, maybe I didnt notice it?)

    But usually at home I have 3-5 bars... and now I have 0-1.

    Now, at first I would chalk this up the the new rom I just flashed (Bugless beat 0.6.1) but my father has an unhacked Droid2, and he has more or less the same signal as me.

    Has anyone else noticed this? Perhaps its LTE upgrades they are doing? Either way, its annoying :)
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,788
    Likes Received:
    575
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    what you can try is dialing *228 and then choosing option 2 this should provide a better signal.

    do you happen to be using a different phone now? Sounds like it's just your area and you didn't really notice before.

    when i go to my cousin's house which is like 3 miles away i get basically 0-1 bar, dropping in and out of 3g, at home i have full bars. Even dialing *228 doesn't help at their house so i figure it's the area, even though there's a verizon store a little over 200yds away...very strange...
  3. ICANSEEYOU7687
    Offline

    ICANSEEYOU7687 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    *228 and option 2 will just reprogram the phone?

    But, no, I have had my droid since Day 1, when they were released.
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,788
    Likes Received:
    575
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    doing that little step sometimes helps with my signal.

    i believe what it does is it updates to the nearest cell tower, giving you better signal
  5. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It updates the PRL. In some case it helps. In some cases it doesn't. It's not a panacea for coverage issues as many make it out to be.

    Are you actually having problems with placing/receiving calls or using data? Or are you just fixated on the number? The number of bars isn't quite as important with CDMA, IIRC.

    If you're really concerned you need to be looking at dBm, not bars.
  6. *22899
    Offline

    *22899 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I always make sure to have data roaming turned on in settings also. Some ROMs have it checked for you already some don't.

    This Probably doesn't make a difference for most people but by me Verizon uses another company's towers to help with signal strength when need be. (or so they told me)
  7. A Nobody
    Offline

    A Nobody New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try switching to airplane mode let it sit for 30 secs then back to 3g...that resets it and help me out.
Search tags for this page
3g signal strength is very weak on my android
,
my 3g signal is weak
,
my phones 3g signal is weak
,
verizon 3g weak
,

weak 3g signal

,
weak 3g signal android
,
weak 3g signal at home
,
weak 3g verizon
,
weak g3 on my android phone
,
weak verizon android signal in home
,
why is my 3g signal so weak
,

why is my 3g signal weak