Way to connect Droid to Ad-Hoc Wifi?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by skater8705, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. skater8705
    Offline

    skater8705 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I’ve looked around for this question, and a lot of the threads seem outdated.


    Now that Froyo 2.2 is out, is there a way to connect the Droid to an adhoc network? More specifically, tether a Droid to a Droid?


    I have two Moto Droids, and one is without plan, and since it is all beat up, I prefer to use it in my car for music (Pandora) over my new Droid (which I’m trying to keep new-looking). Both Droids are rooted and are running different ROMs (Data-Enabled Droid running Ultimate Droid and No-Service Droid running ChevyNo1's Simply Stunning v4.7).

    I have wifi tethering on the with-service Droid, but when I run it, the no-service droid doesn't pick it up.
    I've read people talking about changing ini settings to allow it to do so, but I have no clue where to start on doing this.

    Any help would be appreciated.
  2. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I cant do this either however I would be willing to try, particularly if it involved any command line options. Can you post a link of any information you have found so I can look over it? I never ran across anything with ini files.
  3. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    My Droid picks up Ad-Hoc networks fine. I'm running CyanogenMod 6, though.
  4. yorT
    Offline

    yorT New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which kernal are you running?
  5. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    ChevyNo1's 1.1GHz ULV. I don't know if the stock kernel would have an issue or not with the WiFi system. I'd assume not.

    @OP: Is your Droid broadcasting SSID when you turn on tethering?
  6. skater8705
    Offline

    skater8705 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah it is. Ive connected it to other people's laptop, as well as mine. Ive also connected it to ipods without a problem.

    You did say you're running CyanogenMod 6 though, imma install tonight, and see if it works. When i have it up and running ill respond with results.
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Good luck!
  8. skater8705
    Offline

    skater8705 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WIN!!!! dancedroid

    @ furbearingmammal .....THANX A MILLION :)

    yea i loaded up CyanogenMod 6.0.0 and had success connecting to my other droid. i also loaded up the ChevyNo1-1.25Ghz-ulowV-7slot kernel if it matters, but everything works great.
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    :icon_ banana:

    So glad it worked for you! :)
  10. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weird -- but a stock 2.2 D1 wont connect to a D1 cm6.0 running wireless tether. Its weird -- using wifinder the ad-hoc network can be seen but the handshake can not be completed.
  11. skater8705
    Offline

    skater8705 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well the way i have my set up is my Droid running UltimateDroid 8.0.0 is broadcasting the signal, and the Droid with CyanogenMod 6.0.0 is the one receiving it.

    I think that is what furbearingmammal originally meant when he said his Droid picks up Ad-Hoc networks. It is because he is using CyanogenMod 6.0.0 on the Droid receiving it.

    I dont know if there are other ways out there to connect, but this so far was the simplest to me.
Search tags for this page
ad hoc
,

ad hoc in android

,
ad-hoc wifi connection android motorola droid razr
,

android wont connect to ad hoc

,
connect droid3 to ad hoc network
,
cyanogenmod support for ad hoc
,
droid bionic won't see ad hoc network
,

droid raxr max adhoc

,
droid razr ad hoc
,
droid razr not picking up ad hoc wifi
,
milestone connect to adhoc
,
moto x adhoc wifi