1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Way to connect Droid to Ad-Hoc Wifi?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by skater8705, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. skater8705
    Offline

    skater8705 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I’ve looked around for this question, and a lot of the threads seem outdated.


    Now that Froyo 2.2 is out, is there a way to connect the Droid to an adhoc network? More specifically, tether a Droid to a Droid?


    I have two Moto Droids, and one is without plan, and since it is all beat up, I prefer to use it in my car for music (Pandora) over my new Droid (which I’m trying to keep new-looking). Both Droids are rooted and are running different ROMs (Data-Enabled Droid running Ultimate Droid and No-Service Droid running ChevyNo1's Simply Stunning v4.7).

    I have wifi tethering on the with-service Droid, but when I run it, the no-service droid doesn't pick it up.
    I've read people talking about changing ini settings to allow it to do so, but I have no clue where to start on doing this.

    Any help would be appreciated.
  2. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I cant do this either however I would be willing to try, particularly if it involved any command line options. Can you post a link of any information you have found so I can look over it? I never ran across anything with ini files.
  3. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    My Droid picks up Ad-Hoc networks fine. I'm running CyanogenMod 6, though.
  4. yorT
    Offline

    yorT New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which kernal are you running?
  5. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    ChevyNo1's 1.1GHz ULV. I don't know if the stock kernel would have an issue or not with the WiFi system. I'd assume not.

    @OP: Is your Droid broadcasting SSID when you turn on tethering?
  6. skater8705
    Offline

    skater8705 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah it is. Ive connected it to other people's laptop, as well as mine. Ive also connected it to ipods without a problem.

    You did say you're running CyanogenMod 6 though, imma install tonight, and see if it works. When i have it up and running ill respond with results.
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Good luck!
  8. skater8705
    Offline

    skater8705 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WIN!!!! dancedroid

    @ furbearingmammal .....THANX A MILLION :)

    yea i loaded up CyanogenMod 6.0.0 and had success connecting to my other droid. i also loaded up the ChevyNo1-1.25Ghz-ulowV-7slot kernel if it matters, but everything works great.
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    :icon_ banana:

    So glad it worked for you! :)
  10. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weird -- but a stock 2.2 D1 wont connect to a D1 cm6.0 running wireless tether. Its weird -- using wifinder the ad-hoc network can be seen but the handshake can not be completed.
  11. skater8705
    Offline

    skater8705 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well the way i have my set up is my Droid running UltimateDroid 8.0.0 is broadcasting the signal, and the Droid with CyanogenMod 6.0.0 is the one receiving it.

    I think that is what furbearingmammal originally meant when he said his Droid picks up Ad-Hoc networks. It is because he is using CyanogenMod 6.0.0 on the Droid receiving it.

    I dont know if there are other ways out there to connect, but this so far was the simplest to me.
Search tags for this page
ad hoc
,
ad hoc android froyo
,

ad hoc in android

,
ad-hoc wifi connection android motorola droid razr
,

android wont connect to ad hoc

,
connect droid to ad hoc no root
,
connect droid3 to ad hoc network
,
droid bionic won't see ad hoc network
,

droid raxr max adhoc

,
droid razr connect to ad hoc
,
droid razr not picking up ad hoc wifi
,
how to pick up an ad hoc network with android
,
milestone connect to adhoc
,
moto x adhoc wifi
,
wonder media 2.2 connect to ad hoc