Warning about .596 update

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by kirbnite, May 10, 2011.

  1. kirbnite

    kirbnite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    P3Droid: Good evening: This just in - DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES TAKE THE 4.5.596 update if you want to stay rooted. Dont do it.
    --http://twitter.com/P3Droid/status/68114204300808192

    P3Droid: Gingerbreak 1.0, 1.1, 1.2 are not working. Also rules have changed - YOU WILL NEED TO BE ON FROYO (2.3.340) to get the update.
    --http://twitter.com/P3Droid/status/68114457666129921

    P3Droid: OR YOU CAN WAIT FOR TBH to get you a solution.
    --http://twitter.com/P3Droid/status/68114562557292546

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  2. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    This was already posted.
     
  3. kirbnite

    kirbnite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah one time in general discussion and once in hacks. Just feel better letting everyone know as fast as possible.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  4. spacecasespiff

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I new it. It did not make sense to me that you could still get the gingerbread update while on gengerbread. But I'm sure tbh will find away to do it anyway. I went back to froyo when I herd about the update cuz I knew that was the better way to get the update

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  5. bitter

    bitter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am debating rolling back to Froyo now, but I am skeptical because we don't really know if GB is really going to roll out this week or not.
     
  6. 04CiviCon20s

    04CiviCon20s Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meffa, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can one be on .340 "rooted" with a 3rd party rom like Apex1.4.1 or does one need to be on .340 stock and non rooted in order to get the proper OTA for GB
     
  7. spacecasespiff

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't be on a rom need to be on stock 2.2. I've been on stock for about two weeks and I have to say it's not too bad? Not as fast as a rom but not bad at all. But just wait until we know for sure about the update. It only takes a few minutes to go back to your stock rom if you're on a 2.2 rom. Remember its only a roomer that it will be out the Friday.

    I forgot you can be rooted it will just unroot you.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  8. 04CiviCon20s

    04CiviCon20s Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meffa, MA
    Ratings:
    +0