Want to update (maybe change) root.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Verbtex, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. Verbtex
    Offline

    Verbtex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, I have a Motorola Droid. My phone is running 2.0.1 (because it had to go backwards to root). The baseband version is C_01.3E.01P. And the kernel is 2.6.29-compcache06_unionfs253-sholes-omap1-hg383b38baebcb-dirty.

    I rooted this phone back on March 7th.

    What I want to do is update to a root that runs 2.2 if that is possible, because I am really jealous of the features. I would still like to keep the Wireless Tether, and a lot of my apps if that is possible. I see that there is a DM updater on my phone and theres a few options, they have the stock option and the rooted options. I noticed that there was an update so that I could switch to Durden 2.2 root but I would lose the camera autofocus. Is there any way that I can have 2.2, with the wireless tether, and the camera auto focus, or is that asking too much?

    So how would I go about doing this? Please make this process as easy as possible if what I am asking is possible.

    Thanks in advance,

    Adam (Verbtex).
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
  3. Verbtex
    Offline

    Verbtex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your help furbearingmammal, but my droid is already rooted.

    What can I do to change to a better (more updated?) root?
  4. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    I was trying to get SPRecovery on your phone so you could install a different ROM.
  5. Vergina_Droid
    Offline

    Vergina_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Cleveland - Ohio
    If you have a motorola droid you can root regardless of the OS. I rooted mine after manually updating to 2.2. There's a guide on this forum about it, it's called Root Motorola Droid regardless of OS or something like that. I didn't lose any features.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  6. Vergina_Droid
    Offline

    Vergina_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Cleveland - Ohio
    Maybe unroot, manually update, and root again?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  7. Verbtex
    Offline

    Verbtex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I'm pretty sure I already have SPRecovery. If I turn on my phone and hold down x, it comes up with a Welcome to SPRecovery screen. I asks if I want to reboot system now (with a bunch of other options.)
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    As for a ROM to put on, look at Simply Stunning or CyanogenMod. Ultimate Droid has quite a following as well. I'd recommend CyanogenMod if you've been running vanilla rooted stock -- and if you're running rooted 2.0.1 you're VERY vanilla. :)

    Latest Version - CyanogenMod Wiki

    Get Cyanogen 6.0.0 and don't forget to install the Google app pack if you want to keep your Gmail and Market. :)

    For help with getting it flashed, check out the first link in my sig.
  9. Verbtex
    Offline

    Verbtex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks a lot! :) However I have just a few questions.

    Will I lose all my text messages? (I want to send a few to my email if so)

    How do I go about installing the Google app pack? Is it involved in the installation process?

    Will it automatically "update" to look and work like android 2.2? If not, how would I go about that?

    I'm probably confusing you with my questions, but I just want to be sure before I make a huge mistake I didn't want.
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Yes, you will, but you can get a free app from the market to back them up to the SD card. Or you could just e-mail them if you only want to save a few.

    Installing the Google App Pack is the same as installing the ROM -- standard update.zip install.

    It will be 2.2, except you have ADW as your stock launcher and unbelievable control over what your phone can do. Make a Nandroid backup of your current install before installing the ROM, reboot to make sure it'll boot fine, and then install the app pack in the same way you installed the ROM. Make a backup, and then boot into your new FroYo install.

    If you have any problems, just let me know.
  11. ukyfan
    Offline

    ukyfan Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    you can download SMS Backup from the market. I use it and it works really well.