Want to install Kangerade please help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cnmsales, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all. Let me first say I appreciate everyone's help on this forum. This forum is above and beyond the others. Everyone here is really patient.

    So i am wanting to install kangerade. Last night I rooted my phone and installed the plain froyo that is available. Now i am wanting to go with kangerade.

    I am using the instructions listed here http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...royo-step-step-installation-2.html#post528613

    My question is. Do i follow the same instructions to do this and just replace "Mount your Droid and copy the folder named froyo-BS-20100608-0313 into the nandroid folder.(Example: H:\nandroid\froyo-BS-20100608-0313 )" with the kangerade file? AND can i skip Install SPRecovery, and Create Backup?
  2. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also need to know. Will i need to install a kernal after putting this on. Such as one of the PS3's?
  3. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    No, you would install this with the update.zip method, and then following that, the same with the kernel
  4. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So i just download the file. Rename it to update.zip and move the file to the main folder on the SD card. IE: L:\update.zip then boot into preboot and do the install update.zip option?
  5. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Correct.

    Ultimately, i would suggest doing nandroid backups of your current ROM and then wipe before installing.

    But you can do it without wiping if your coming from a stock froyo ROM.
  6. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok i did it, thanks man running kangerade now. Second question for you. If I had a ps3 kernal installed previous to installing this rom do i have to reinstall it? Or is it still installed?
  7. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Go into settings>about phone

    Look at your kernel version..

    It's probably not P3... so you'll need to re-install your custom kernel with the update.zip method, same as before.
  8. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, had to reinstall kernal. Thanks again for your help. I appreciate it!!!! Rocking kangerade and loving it!!!!
Search tags for this page

how to install kangerade to droid 1