1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

want to go back to stock

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by pesky, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. pesky
    Offline

    pesky New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just as the title states. When I look at the about phone screen it says under kernel version 2.6.32.9-P3Droids. Can someone help me out or point me in the right direction?
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    There are plenty of methods, but probably the most fail-safe, user-friendly method if you're having trouble is to RSD Lite/SBF_Flash it back to stock.

    Are you returning the phone for service or are you just putting it back to stock for your own reason?
  3. pesky
    Offline

    pesky New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, some of my apps don't update. Every time I look at the app update screen I always have the same 20 or so apps that never update. Some apps just wont work either. Also, sometimes it just freezes up and I have to force close.I just thought that if I returned to stock, everything would work fine. I am open to any other suggestions as well, Im not dead set on going back to stock.
  4. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Okay.

    Are you stock-rooted with a custom kernel or are you ROMed? Have you cleared your Market's data and cache from the app manager?
  5. pesky
    Offline

    pesky New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    So you're several OS revisions behind?

    You might want to update. There are some nice features on the latest versions, and you might want to try a ROM, too. They really are better. :)

    But, get into the phone's settings.

    Now, it's Applications> Manage Applications> All tab> Market> Clear data> Clear Cache.

    You'll have to sign back in to the Market, but no big deal. Now see if your stuff won't download.
  7. pesky
    Offline

    pesky New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All of my apps are updated now, it worked great. What ROM would you recommend? Any good tutorials?
    *Google Goggles will not update, it just says installation unsuccessful
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2011
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Do you use Goggles? It's a tricky PITA to update.

    As for ROMs, no, I don't have any recommendations. I can suggest a couple you might want to stay away from, but most of my reasons are because I have worked too many threads trying to fix problems with them when they're ROM-specific bugs or glitches. :)
  9. pesky
    Offline

    pesky New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't really USE it, its more of a novelty thing that I play around with from time to time. I don't need it. As far as ROMs go, what should I stay away from? Which ones are most problematic?
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Anything Gingerbread-based. :)

    It's gotten a lot better but there are still a lot of little (and some not-so-little) bugs. However, progress is made every day. I'd strongly suggest you stay away from Bugless Beast and Ultimate Droid, however, as both have driven me nuts working threads to fix their problems. But you can try either, of course, and I'll even help you get them on if you'd like. :) Look around. For first-time flashers I'd look at a stock-like ROM like CyanogenMod or a ROM with great dev support like Simply Stunning. There are stripped-down, bare-bones ROMs like Metickmod, too. Oh, and any ROM that doesn't have Goggles preinstalled may just let you install it from the Market.

    Every Droid is different, just like every Droid owner is different, so my suggestions may not be the best for you. :)
  11. pesky
    Offline

    pesky New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where should I start if I want to try out CyanogenMod? I know I am asking a lot of n00b questions, I am just trying to make sure I do this correctly and I want to learn as I am doing it.
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Start by installing Titanium Backup from the Market and then making a nandroid backup in recovery. :) After that it's a matter of getting the software (CM 7 is Gingerbread-based, CM 6 is FroYo-based), wiping your phone, installing the ROM and Google app pack, and then restoring your app via Titanium Backup. Once you've done that it's a matter of testing and tweaking the phone to see if the ROM is right for you.

    Let me know when you've made the backups (if you need help with the Nandroid, let me know).
  13. pesky
    Offline

    pesky New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I must not have completed something when I did this the first time. Titanium Backup will not work, it says it could not acquire root privileges.
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Check your SU app to see if Ti Backup was denied root access. If so, change that and you'll be good to go. Also, try installing Busybox from the market (stericson). If you can get that installed from within the app then you HAVE root and it's just Ti Backup that's being a pain. :)
  15. pesky
    Offline

    pesky New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I have titanium backup working and busybox installed successfully. How do I do the Nandroid backup?
  16. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Boot into recovery (power phone down, press and hold X on the keyboard and don't let go, power phone up, once the recovery screen appears release X). If the recovery screen has a triangle and a big ! then it's stock and we'll have to start over getting a custom recovery on there. If you get an Andy with a bunch of menus, just scroll down using either the volume keys or the D-pad to backup/restore. Make a simple Nandroid backup. Once it's done you'll have the backup. Reboot into the OS and we'll proceed from there.
  17. pesky
    Offline

    pesky New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, got it.
  18. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Okay, now that we have our apps backed up and a Nandroid backup, the next step is to decide if you want to keep your texts or not. If you do, there are several programs on the Market that do a better job that Ti used to (don't know about the latest version). If you don't care about losing them then the next step is to download the ROM and app pack (I will provide links, just tell me if you want CM6 or CM7), and put them on your SD card. I'm going to recommend that you upgrade to RZRecovery at this point, but it's far from mandatory, simply for the ease of flashing the ROM/App pack, and the fact that the recovery is an update AND an upgrade to SPRecovery.
  19. pesky
    Offline

    pesky New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't care about backing my texts up. I will try out CM6, where do I get RZRecovery?
  20. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    http://www.rzroms.com/droid/recovery/RZR-2.0.1/RZR-2.0.1-update.zip

    Rename that update.zip, put it on the root of your SD card, reboot into recovery. Now, Install> Allow update.zip installation> Install update.zip (deprecated). When you reboot you'll have a recovery that looks like this.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ra...-based-update-zips-battery-charging-more.html

    The colors are changed from screen to screen only because it allows custom colors. It also has a flashlight app built in, it charges from recovery, won't flash if your battery is too low, restores clockwork as well as sprecovery backups, is oveclocked for faster backups and restores, etc. etc. etc. It's just awesome. :)
Search tags for this page

lg vortex stock rom