Want better in-call audio? / How-To Change Voice Codec

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by xliderider, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Saw this tip over at HoFo:

    Get into the programming menu, from the call screen, enter ##PROGRAM and press send. Enter code 000000.

    In option 04, you can change the vocode option to EVRC-B, it made my in-call audio sound better. Your phone will reset after you exit and apply the new setting.

    Warning: Be careful what options you change in the programming menu, you could potentially brick your phone.

    Also, be aware that there is a noise cancelling microphone on the back of your Droid. Look for a small rectangular slit/hole near your headphone jack on the middle, back edge of the case. If you cover this mic with a case or your hand/finger when talking, it could cause audio problems.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
  2. blackngray70

    blackngray70 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the tip:)
     
  3. wsbsteven

    wsbsteven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    youtube.com/wimervision
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do we know what the default is? I found this information about those two codecs:

    "The newer, mode widely-used CDMA codec, is EVRC. VZW seems to use it now as well, though I think sometimes they still use 13k. On my Mogul (Sprint) it used EVRC for home calls and 13K for roam calls, and you can tell the difference; since roaming generally means I'm out in the boonies with a generally weaker signal, 13K usually sounds a bit more muffled than EVRC. But it may not be the signal, since the Mogul has very good reception so I don't really get signal artifacts (on 13K voice distortion, on EVRC dropouts) ever."
     
  4. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    The default on the Droid is EVRC
     
  5. dajakal

    dajakal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    On my moto razr, I used the same programming type menu to disable 3G or EVDO which really helped the battery life. Even though it defeats the purpose of the smartphone aspect, is there a setting on the Droid that can do that for last-ditch battery saving?
     
  6. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,711
    Likes Received:
    1,146
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 5
    Nothing wrong with call audio here.

    Excellent tip though.
     
  7. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    There is a Test Mode option in the Programming screen. Once Test Mode is enabled, it might be the same process as the previous Moto phones to change the HDR PREFERENCE to CDMA. However, I am not going to try this on my brand new Droid. ;)
     
  8. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
  9. forkup

    forkup Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone tested to see if they thought one was better than the other?
     
  10. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am using the EVRC-B codec now, but TBH I wasn't really having problems on the default setting. :p
     
  11. godanigo

    godanigo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Check out the Toggle Data widget.
     
  12. skuzz

    skuzz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can use the menu to completely disable EVDO. I was using it earlier to do some 1x data tests and it works fine. The switch for it is under the Test Mode screen.

    Test mode->enable->next->next->Network Mode->CDMA Only

    You may need to power cycle the radio/device if it doesn't come back in 30 seconds or so, otherwise you'll drop to 1x for battery saving joy!
     
Search tags for this page
android change audio codec
,
android change codec
,
android change voice codec
,
android internet calling codec
,

android voice codec

,
change android voice codec
,

ims test mode

,
voice codec android
,
voice coder for android
,
what is ims test mode