Want better in-call audio? / How-To Change Voice Codec

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by xliderider, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Saw this tip over at HoFo:

    Get into the programming menu, from the call screen, enter ##PROGRAM and press send. Enter code 000000.

    In option 04, you can change the vocode option to EVRC-B, it made my in-call audio sound better. Your phone will reset after you exit and apply the new setting.

    Warning: Be careful what options you change in the programming menu, you could potentially brick your phone.

    Also, be aware that there is a noise cancelling microphone on the back of your Droid. Look for a small rectangular slit/hole near your headphone jack on the middle, back edge of the case. If you cover this mic with a case or your hand/finger when talking, it could cause audio problems.
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
  2. blackngray70
    Offline

    blackngray70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Thanks for the tip:)
  3. wsbsteven
    Offline

    wsbsteven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    youtube.com/wimervision
    Do we know what the default is? I found this information about those two codecs:

    "The newer, mode widely-used CDMA codec, is EVRC. VZW seems to use it now as well, though I think sometimes they still use 13k. On my Mogul (Sprint) it used EVRC for home calls and 13K for roam calls, and you can tell the difference; since roaming generally means I'm out in the boonies with a generally weaker signal, 13K usually sounds a bit more muffled than EVRC. But it may not be the signal, since the Mogul has very good reception so I don't really get signal artifacts (on 13K voice distortion, on EVRC dropouts) ever."
  4. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    The default on the Droid is EVRC
  5. dajakal
    Offline

    dajakal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On my moto razr, I used the same programming type menu to disable 3G or EVDO which really helped the battery life. Even though it defeats the purpose of the smartphone aspect, is there a setting on the Droid that can do that for last-ditch battery saving?
  6. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,707
    Likes Received:
    534
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Nothing wrong with call audio here.

    Excellent tip though.
  7. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    There is a Test Mode option in the Programming screen. Once Test Mode is enabled, it might be the same process as the previous Moto phones to change the HDR PREFERENCE to CDMA. However, I am not going to try this on my brand new Droid. ;)
  8. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
  9. forkup
    Offline

    forkup New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone tested to see if they thought one was better than the other?
  10. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    I am using the EVRC-B codec now, but TBH I wasn't really having problems on the default setting. :p
  11. godanigo
    Offline

    godanigo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Check out the Toggle Data widget.
  12. skuzz
    Offline

    skuzz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can use the menu to completely disable EVDO. I was using it earlier to do some 1x data tests and it works fine. The switch for it is under the Test Mode screen.

    Test mode->enable->next->next->Network Mode->CDMA Only

    You may need to power cycle the radio/device if it doesn't come back in 30 seconds or so, otherwise you'll drop to 1x for battery saving joy!
  13. markmicallef
    Offline

    markmicallef New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How to get better call quality on your droid

    source:
    How to get better call quality on your droid - SmartPhoneADDICTED

    THIS IS THE PHONE PROGRAMING MENU! DO NOT MESS WITH OTHER SETTINGS IN THIS MENU IF YOU DONT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING! YOU CAN AND WILL FUBAR YOUR DEVICE!

    How to get better call quality on your droid
    There have been a few reports of users hearing a echo when making calls. Or the person on the other end of the call no being able to hear you very good. This is something that may help you if you find the Droid having poor call quaility.

    On your dialpad dial*##PROGRAM
    * then press* SEND
    The SPC password is* 000000
    Now you should be at the Programming Menu.*
    From the list press*"04 Vocode"
    Now you can select 13k, EVRC (default option), or EVRC-B. Select EVRC-B
    After you select one, back out to your home screen and your phone will reset.

    That's it Also here is a little information on what this does*exactly.

    Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia Enhanced_Variable_Rate_Codec

    Enhanced Variable Rate Codec B - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Now before you dive into changing these settings... EVRC-B is not available in all parts of the country. So if you change these settings and cannot make calls, try changing it to the 13K setting.

    ALSO THIS IS THE PHONE PROGRAMING MENU! DO NOT MESS WITH OTHER SETTINGS IN THIS MENU IF YOU DONT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING! YOU CAN AND WILL FUBAR YOUR DEVICE!
  14. 04blkep3
    Offline

    04blkep3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Concord, CA
    i just did this. thanks going to see if it works with a phonecall
  15. INFERNO
    Offline

    INFERNO New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A tech dialed the prl from my phone and it calibrated itself. I believe it was *228 or something its on the back of the Verizon cheat sheet card.
  16. medicTHREE
    Offline

    medicTHREE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    *228 will help with your Preferred Roaming List, but It won't do what this post is describing.
  17. medicTHREE
    Offline

    medicTHREE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It worked great for me, sounds better calling automated systems, hard to tell with a live person as it is 0630 and I have no one to call yet.
  18. spyder560
    Offline

    spyder560 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did all these steps above and it doesn't seem to have fixed the muffling or sound quality. I'm wondering if I should try exchanging it for another one?

    Anyone else took theirs back and got an improved one?
  19. theraven51
    Offline

    theraven51 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having the same problem and none of the fixes worked for me either. I am going to take it back and see what they can do.
  20. spyder560
    Offline

    spyder560 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Let us know if the one you get is better
Search tags for this page
android change audio codec
,
android change codec
,
android change voice codec
,
android internet calling codec
,

android voice codec

,
change android voice codec
,
cyanogenmod audio codecs voice
,
droid razr ims test mode
,
how to change droid to evrc-b
,

ims test mode

,
mic codecs android
,
setting your voice codec from the smartphone
,
voice codec android
,
voice coder for android
,
what is ims test mode