Wanna easily change that Verizon Wireless in the pulldown?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jrummy16, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. jrummy16
    Offline

    jrummy16 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2010
  2. matt13703
    Offline

    matt13703 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    RI
    I used method one and lost root, not sure why

    Method 2 worked perfectly
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2010
  3. Bunsen Honeydew
    Offline

    Bunsen Honeydew New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here on the latest UD.
  4. neilrl79
    Offline

    neilrl79 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    I would love to change mine but losing root is something i would rather not deal with today. If it anyone gets it to work let us know.
  5. jbrtzfldr
    Offline

    jbrtzfldr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would love to try it, but I also don't want to deal with losing root.
  6. frostthejack
    Offline

    frostthejack New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG]

    Ok so I succesfully did it using the second method I'm running shadow rom the latest release.

    I just did su to mount superuser then copied from sd to system/xbin did the chmod 755 on the file then just typed eri and it worked I used drocap to take the screenshot so I still have root.

    I did this all from my phone while at work. Saved the txt file using my browser then used terminal for the rest. You could actually use root explorer to put the file in system/xbin

    Also when you try to copy it it will most likely be a .txt file on your phone so the command should look like this

    cp /sdcard/eri.txt /system/xbin/eri

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  7. jrummy16
    Offline

    jrummy16 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    I'll fix the update.zip.. probably permissions.. Sorry :-/
  8. frostthejack
    Offline

    frostthejack New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It can not distinguish caps. All caps still shows up as no caps so for instance FROSTTHEJACK shows up as frostthejack

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

    Edit- P.S. I think this script is awesome and have spread the word.
  9. jrummy16
    Offline

    jrummy16 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Hmm.. weird caps, spaces, etc. work for me
  10. neilrl79
    Offline

    neilrl79 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    In the second method there are a couple of characters in the command that I can't find on my phone, I think one of them may be an accent mark and the other looks like just a line straight up and down. Generally when I ask a question like this I tend to feel stupid when I get an answer that is most likely obvious to everyone else. Thanks in advance.
  11. frostthejack
    Offline

    frostthejack New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I figured it out I wasn't mounting r/w I was trying the same thing but all caps when I tried something different and noticed it didn't change I knew there was something wrong.

    I mount r/w using root explorer how can I do it in terminal or is there some way to add something to the script that makes it r/w.

    If you don't have /system mounted it will still run the script but it will not do anything.
  12. want a droid
    Offline

    want a droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Any idea if this works on the D2? I figure if it works on D1 AND DX, then it should work on D2 correct?
  13. frostthejack
    Offline

    frostthejack New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok the top half is just about mounting read write I just used root explorer went to system folder and clicked mount r/w at the top then proceded with the rest which starts at busy box

    So after you get system mounted r/w and assuming you have the eri.txt file on your sdcard not in any folder you will want to type this into terminal emulator

    cp /sdcard/eri.txt /system/xbin/eri

    chmod 755 /system/xbin/eri

    eri

    Then just type in what you want it to say less then 16 letters long.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  14. MrSpeed3
    Offline

    MrSpeed3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Gate, CA
    How do I go about downloading the scrip?
  15. canvs2321
    Offline

    canvs2321 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it's in the OP, method2
  16. frostthejack
    Offline

    frostthejack New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are doing it from your phone go to this link

    http://www.froyoroms.com/files/developers/jrummy/JRummy/Other/

    You will see a list and you will see eri in that list long press it then save link it will download a .txt file it will be in your download folder on your sd card now you can either move it to the root of your sdcard or modify the command to look for it in your download folder in that case you would enter the command

    cp /sdcard/download/eri.txt /system/xbin/eri

    The rest is the same as previously stated.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk


    Edit

    if you are viewing this thread from your computer right click save link

    If you are viewing through the browser in your phone just longpress the link jrummy gave.

    The instructions I gave first are for those using tapatalk makes it a little easier.
  17. _jroid
    Offline

    _jroid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I may be trying this later. subscribed for now.
  18. neilrl79
    Offline

    neilrl79 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    Awesome. I got it to work. I had to rename it to "eri" ,removing the .txt extension, for it to work. Are we limited to 16 characters? There was another thread with a more complicated method for this hack that required a computer and it had a 16 character limit. Thank you jrummy16 for this hack and thank you jackthefrost for the assistance.
  19. doctordoctor
    Offline

    doctordoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    tried method 2 didn't work... but I guess i screwed up. need more laymen step by step i guess. not too familiar with terminal. jack could you elaborate a bit maybe and I will try it your way!
  20. HarvesterX™
    Offline

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    It seems to have worked properly. All I did was save the script using the "Save Page" option in dolphin. Then using Root Explorer I went to /sdcard/download and found the script. I renamed it "eri" and copied it to /system/xbin. Then again using Root Explorer, I set the permissions. Just put a check next to each choice. From there just run the script.

    @jrummy, it capitalized fine on my attempt