1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Waiting for the Cable Company (Time Warner Cable)

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by hookbill, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    They are suppose to be here between 12 and 2:00 pm today. Any bets that they no show? That's 20.00 off my bill if they don't make it.
  2. DessoThumbs
    Offline

    DessoThumbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    Whatcha having done, Hook?
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well, they made it came and gone. It's kind of complicated but I'll explain it the best I can.

    I have two TiVo's, not the cable company boxes but real, genuine TiVo's. They use cable cards and a tuner adapter to communicate with TWC and their Switched Digital Video system.

    Lately for some unknown reason on some of these SDV channels, strangely whatever one I seem to want to watch I get a message saying "Channel Not Available - Please Try Again Later."

    I've had people come out to the hub and check to see if there is an issue there. They couldn't find anything so now these guys have to see if it's an issue in the house.

    The problem is I can't duplicate the issue right now, of course.

    The thing that is really strange about it is when the issue does occur if I tune in one of my televisions using one of the cable companies boxes, then the tuner adapters "see" the channel.

    So they came in and changed a couple of adapters and took off.

    Very strange, I kind of have the feeling they were contractors too, not real employees.

    Well, I'll see if the issue is truly resolved or not eventually. Right now everything is working fine.
  4. etx_droid
    Offline

    etx_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kilgore, TX
    Those intermittent problems are the worst!
  5. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Hook,
    Pm me if you have trouble. I'm in the cable industry. I may have some answers to your questions.

    -Droid Does