VZ Navigator....why if we have google maps

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by fishacura, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. NoBloatware

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    You're right. I stand corrected. What's weird is that if you don't have the default set then the only choice is to go with VZ Nav.

    So, on a new phone contacts > click pic of contact with address > shows VZ Nav even though no default is set.

    To fix, go contacts > click NAME of contact with address > click address > choose Google Maps as default

    Now, when you go phone contacts > click pic > it' shows the Maps icon

    I take back what I said about it being built in, although it certainly seems like there is no choice but VZ Nav by default unless you poke around a bit.
     
    #13 NoBloatware, Sep 9, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  2. AZDroid09

    AZDroid09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well glad you found a way, I so wish they would release another plain vanilla Android phone like the original Droid, but if they can add bloatware and snag extra money from folks they will...it's all about the $$$ not the customer!
     
  3. spunker88

    spunker88 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Pretty much anything Verizon is useless bloatware.
     
  4. krustybaguette

    krustybaguette New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that AZD. On my new Galaxy SIII I found Settings/Application Manager/tab to All/VZNavigator Option was "Disable". After that I checked a random contact and the familiar blue Google Navigation icon had replaced the VZN one. I hope this will work for other VZ crapware, at least until someone figures out how to root this device and install custom ROM.

    kb
     
  5. krustybaguette

    krustybaguette New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just switched to Verizon from T-Mobile where my rooted G2 was running ICS and NO bloatware. I had tried JB but the free T-Mo wifi calling app wasn't included in the JB ROM, and ICS was a huge leap up from T-Mo's Gingerbread. I like the big screen of the new phone, but I'd have stayed with T-Mo except for "family opposition." :angry:
     
Search tags for this page
do i have to pay for vz navigator
,
do you have to pay for vz navigator
,
do you have to pay to use vz navigator
,
google maps navigation or vz navigator
,
google maps vs vz navigator
,
verizon navigator vs google maps
,
verizon navigator vs google navigation
,
vz navigator google maps
,

vz navigator vs google maps

,
vz navigator vs google maps android