VZ Navigator....why if we have google maps

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by fishacura, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just clicked on VZ Navigator and realized it's a pay service. Why would anyone use this with the droid 3 if we have google maps navigation for free (well just data use)
     
  2. NoBloatware
    Offline

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Just a trap to milk more money out of people. Most if not all of the other VZ bloatware apps are like that too in one way or another.
     
  3. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    yup,
    my mother in law has an inc2, and she was using VZnav for a month before i found out and told her about google nav. some people just dont know, and it is just another way for Vzw to get some more money....pretty sad.
     
  4. LT*
    Offline

    LT* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    One thing that really bugs the crap out of me is when pressing a contact pic, the choices that come up (ie phone, text etc) has VZ nav instead of google maps. There's no way to change this other than freezing VZ nav, and I haven't rooted yet. That will be the first app I freeze when I do though.
     
  5. NoBloatware
    Offline

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    That is pretty lame. So if you freeze it then it goes to Google Nav somehow?
     
  6. rvcjew
    Offline

    rvcjew Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA,CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    yeah Google maps. which is part of navigator.
     
  7. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +163
    I agree, VZ Nav doesn't hold a candle to Google Maps if you have an Android. There was a time with VZ Nav was good - but that was with the Blackberry or dumb phones. I'd be surprised if they eventually didn't charge for VZ Nav.
     
  8. DaddysDroid
    Offline

    DaddysDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kendall Park, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are sure that if you go to Menu > Location & Security and deselect(uncheck) VZ Nav....that this does not change. Also when you first launch apps, etc that require the use of GPS/location services, usually they ask which one you want to use (Google or VZ) and there's a 'Remember this choice' check box that goes along with it. I am sure there is a way to change that if you mistakenly chose VZ Nav with the 'Remember...' check box clicked. Not sure where to find that though...I am looking now. Will update if I find.
     
  9. LT*
    Offline

    LT* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I never have the VZ option checked, I think it's causing issues with the GPS chip. This isn't an app per say. Launcher pro has the contacts widget, and when I click on a contact, the bar of options just comes up with all the ways I can contact them. VZ nav is the only option for navigation. So, there was no "remember this choice" pop up for it. I've never even opened VZ nav.
     
  10. AZDroid09
    Offline

    AZDroid09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try going to settings/applications/manage applications/all then scroll down to and tap on vz navigator. See if you can tap "Clear Defaults" or if it says "no defaults set"
     
  11. NoBloatware
    Offline

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    No, this "feature" is baked into the OS. Frickin' BS.

    EDIT: Apparently not. See below.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  12. AZDroid09
    Offline

    AZDroid09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have those options on my D3 so you should have the same.

    Maybe I will reinstall launcher pro and test to see if it's just an issue with their contacts widget. I had the option to choose vz nav or google maps the 1st time I tried to navigate to a contact's address. I chose google and told it to remember. If I go to Settings/Applications/Manage Applications/All and choose Google maps and clear it as default, then I have the choice again between vz nav or gmaps
     
  13. NoBloatware
    Offline

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    You're right. I stand corrected. What's weird is that if you don't have the default set then the only choice is to go with VZ Nav.

    So, on a new phone contacts > click pic of contact with address > shows VZ Nav even though no default is set.

    To fix, go contacts > click NAME of contact with address > click address > choose Google Maps as default

    Now, when you go phone contacts > click pic > it' shows the Maps icon

    I take back what I said about it being built in, although it certainly seems like there is no choice but VZ Nav by default unless you poke around a bit.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  14. AZDroid09
    Offline

    AZDroid09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well glad you found a way, I so wish they would release another plain vanilla Android phone like the original Droid, but if they can add bloatware and snag extra money from folks they will...it's all about the $$$ not the customer!
     
  15. spunker88
    Offline

    spunker88 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Pretty much anything Verizon is useless bloatware.
     
Search tags for this page
do i have to pay for vz navigator
,
do you have to pay for vz navigator
,
do you have to pay to use vz navigator
,
google maps navigation or vz navigator
,
google maps vs vz navigator
,
verizon navigator vs google navigation
,
vz navigator google maps
,

vz navigator vs google maps

,
vz navigator vs google maps android
,
which is better vz navigator or google maps