Volume Control Won't Go To Silent

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by chickltt7, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. chickltt7
    Offline

    chickltt7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hello all! So this morning my phone prompted me to install the 2.2 update on my phone which I did but I've now noticed that when I use the volume button on the side of my phone to try to change it to silent it won't go past vibrate :( Is there anything I can do to fix this or am I sol? Any help or ideas would be great! Thanks!
  2. Zargon
    Offline

    Zargon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Welcome to Froyo! Nothing is broken, that's just a change Google made. I don't like it either.
  3. chickltt7
    Offline

    chickltt7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well that sucks!!! I guess I will have to use my widget to put it on silent :(
  4. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    I know that the PL3X ROM has put it back and I am sure other dev's will follow. I just think it was easier on 2.1 man!
  5. tkoehler
    Offline

    tkoehler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    So Calif
    Yes, i just found out today, after installing my OTA 2.2 yesterday, that the volume control is messed up....even with a Beautiful Widget Silence, does work, but not what i want...the widget wont work for me when the phone is in Vibrate Mode...anyone else with some good ideas...and no, this newbie does not plan on rooting his D1...lol
  6. jnestico
    Offline

    jnestico New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found that "Ringer Toggle Widget" in the market place works great to silence,vibrate or ring at the touch of the widget.It also remembers your volume setting when you switch between functions.
  7. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1 for this, anyone have any idea why google would have done this?
Search tags for this page
android volume control doesnt set phone to vibrate or silent
,
galexy s3 won't go on silent
,
my galaxy s3 volume wont go to silent
,
my htc one won't put on silent from the volume rocker
,
my media will go silent on my android
,

my phone wont let me control volume

,
phone volume wont go to vibrate droid
,
samsung galaxy s4 volume wont go silent