Voicemail Password

Discussion in 'Motorola Moto X' started by jmalliet, Apr 13, 2014.

  1. jmalliet

    jmalliet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got my moto x yesterday, I previously had an iphone. According to my phone I had a new voicemail but when I tried listening to it, it asked me to put my password in. As far as I know I don't have a voicemail password. Is there a way to reset the password or figure out what it is?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,187
    Likes Received:
    1,259
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,448
    Welcome to the forum

    Your service provider can reset your password for you. As soon as you can prove to them you are who you say you are.:biggrin:

    Otherwise the answer is no. Did you change carriers?
     
  3. LoneWolfArcher

    LoneWolfArcher Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    336
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +434
    Do iPhone's input the password for you? As far as I know all carriers make you enter a numeric password when you setup Voicemail. There are ways to retrieve voicemail by calling a number so that is why it is necessary to have a vm pw.
     
  4. jmalliet

    jmalliet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes iphones do put it in for you, I have a feeling that its the same but I forgot what it was. I'll have to give my carrier a call. Thanks!
     
  5. IIGood

    IIGood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +77
    Any phone can really. The past couple phones I had, I programmed the voicemail to dial the *86, then I programmed in a pause, then had it enter my VM password and then #. I never had to manually dial that.

    But now I thought, what's the point of having the password if its going to be autodialed? So now I've gone back to entering it myself.
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,187
    Likes Received:
    1,259
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,448
    There was a time, probably a few years ago, when AT&T didn't require one. Things change.
     
  7. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,606
    Likes Received:
    2,654
    Trophy Points:
    533
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Current Phone Model:
    P7000 for now..
    During the setup process, my carrier gives me the option to require a password or not. Try going through the setup process to see if you get this option.
     
  8. LoneWolfArcher

    LoneWolfArcher Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    336
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +434
    Just a note for those toying with the idea of not securing VM with a password: anyone that knows your phone number could potentially listen to and delete your messages.
     
Search tags for this page
forgot voicemail password moto g
,
forgot voicemail password on moto x
,

forgotmoto g voicemail password

,

how to change my voice mail pass word on moto g

,

how to change voice mail password on moto e

,
how to figure out voicemail password
,
how to reset voice mail passcode moto e
,
how to reset voice mail password moto g
,
how to retrieve voicemail password moto g
,
motorola moto g voicemail reset