Voicemail Password

Discussion in 'Motorola Moto X' started by jmalliet, Apr 13, 2014.

  1. jmalliet
    Offline

    jmalliet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got my moto x yesterday, I previously had an iphone. According to my phone I had a new voicemail but when I tried listening to it, it asked me to put my password in. As far as I know I don't have a voicemail password. Is there a way to reset the password or figure out what it is?
  2. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,816
    Likes Received:
    338
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Welcome to the forum

    Your service provider can reset your password for you. As soon as you can prove to them you are who you say you are.:biggrin:

    Otherwise the answer is no. Did you change carriers?
  3. LoneWolfArcher
    Offline

    LoneWolfArcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Do iPhone's input the password for you? As far as I know all carriers make you enter a numeric password when you setup Voicemail. There are ways to retrieve voicemail by calling a number so that is why it is necessary to have a vm pw.
  4. jmalliet
    Offline

    jmalliet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes iphones do put it in for you, I have a feeling that its the same but I forgot what it was. I'll have to give my carrier a call. Thanks!
  5. IIGood
    Offline

    IIGood Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Any phone can really. The past couple phones I had, I programmed the voicemail to dial the *86, then I programmed in a pause, then had it enter my VM password and then #. I never had to manually dial that.

    But now I thought, what's the point of having the password if its going to be autodialed? So now I've gone back to entering it myself.
  6. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,816
    Likes Received:
    338
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    There was a time, probably a few years ago, when AT&T didn't require one. Things change.
  7. Jeffrey
    Online

    Jeffrey DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    407
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Thailand
    During the setup process, my carrier gives me the option to require a password or not. Try going through the setup process to see if you get this option.
  8. LoneWolfArcher
    Offline

    LoneWolfArcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Just a note for those toying with the idea of not securing VM with a password: anyone that knows your phone number could potentially listen to and delete your messages.
Search tags for this page
how to change a voicemail password on lg optimus when i dont
,

how to change my voice mail pass word on moto g

,
how to change my voicemail password
,
how to figure out voicemail password
,
how to reset a voicemail password for motox
,
how to reset voicemail password on motorola moto g 8gb
,
motorola moto x voicemail setup