Voice to text

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by DaDroidDude, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. DaDroidDude

    DaDroidDude Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey.

    I LOVE this feature, but all of the sudden, when I click on the mic icon, it comes up with a slash through it.
    This happened shortly after it kept telling me that the service was unavailable, or something like that.

    Is this a local service or does it need to hook up with the cloud?

    Thanks.
    B
     
  2. Joker

    Joker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    BFE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haven't expericenced this problem yet, but the only thing I could think of is whether you are running a task killer/manager. If so be sure not to kill the voice search process or something similar. Other than that *shrug*

    Hopefully someone else may have a better idea.
     
  3. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    try a simple reset - seems to fix a lot of minor problems with the droid
     
  4. DaDroidDude

    DaDroidDude Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I do a simple reset?
    Is it more than just rebooting?
     
  5. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    just do a battery pull for about 30 seconds to see if that fixes it
     
  6. yoopermjm

    yoopermjm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upper Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    This may be obvious, but it happened to me...:blink:
    Make sure you're not in airplane mode.
    The voice app only works if you're connected...
     
  7. wendy5001

    wendy5001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    can i get it to take "text" more than one sentence at a time? i've never had this feature before but i can only seem to get one sentence out before it goes away and this seems silly. am i doing something wrong?
     
  8. jaste

    jaste New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Voice to text translation is performed on a Google server. You need a connection.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2010
  9. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wendy, there isn't a tiny secretary taking dictation on the other end of the line. As my daddy used to say about dogs dancing, "You don't ask how well they do it; it's amazing they do it at all."

    The speech to text feature is designed to take a few seconds of an audible signal, translate it, allow you to determine if it's correct, and proceed. Given the error rate in this sort of software/hardware combination, you wouldn't want to have to make multiple corrections in an entire paragraph.
     
  10. shaislet

    shaislet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've found you can do more than one sentence by saying"period or "question mark"

    You have to hit the microphone button again to reactivate voice-text again. I too am fascinated with this feature but have found it best to accept the short comings and familiar yourself with the workarounds.

    In other words...practice makes almost perfect
     
  11. eliassami5

    eliassami5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can speak an entire essay into the voice to text feature if you wanted. The only reason it is cutting you off is because you are pausing for too long of a period. After you speak your sentence say "period" or "question mark" then continue speaking, just dont pause for more than say 2 seconds.
     
  12. DaDroidDude

    DaDroidDude Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello All.

    So I'm driving down the road and I come up with a todo idea that I need to write down.
    I want to speak it into my rezound todo app without too much hassle and a ton of taps.

    As it is now I have to open the app, start a new todo, press and hold the mic icon (swiftkey keyboard), speak the words, select save.
    WAY too many steps while driving.

    Anybody know a quicker way?

    Is there any truth to the idea that the speech to text "engine" will get more accurate with more use.
    It's way off on a regular basis as it is.

    Thanks
    B
     
  13. Bpowder33

    Bpowder33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    If your on JB Google Keep is what your looking for... Has a lock screen widget with a (mic) button ready to go. I'm not sure what's a good alternative for ICS...
     
  14. DaDroidDude

    DaDroidDude Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, it's ICS.
    Thanks anyway.

    B
     
Search tags for this page
alternative to voice search
,
does htc rezound do voice text
,
free speech to text app for htc phone
,

free voice to text engine for htc phone

,
how do i voice text on htc rezound
,
htc rezound app for voice to text
,

htc rezound speech to text

,

htc rezound text to speech

,
htc rezound where is voice texting