Voice navigation like on droid?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by Shoop, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. Shoop
    Offline

    Shoop New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wondering if the incredible has voice navigatio like the droid does.

    On my droid you could voice search Best Buy and it would go on the internet and search for it. It would also pull up the Best Buys in the general area you were in and you could then click on directions to get navigation directions to the best buy.
    Does the incredible do this? Whenever I do a search on the incredible I do not get the local stores in the general area I'm in.

    Thanks
  2. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I can't imagine why it wouldn't have it. Supposedly next greatest phone and with a step backwards on capability? Wouldn't make sense. That's one of the many features I love about the droid now.
  3. cheapdroids
    Offline

    cheapdroids New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes it ha Google Navigation. When I search for bestbuy I see Google results with the closest to me. Then click on map, then then button. Once there click on the location and select Navigate.

    Sent from my Droid Incredible using Tapatalk
  4. Shoop
    Offline

    Shoop New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I figured it out. After it does a google search you have to click local at the top and then you can use the navigation.
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    You should be able to do it by voice. On the Droid we can tap search, tap microphone and simply say "Navigate to....." and it will set it up for you.
  6. manilaboy1vic
    Offline

    manilaboy1vic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    planet earth
    its exactly the same deal.
  7. MiXoLoGiSt
    Offline

    MiXoLoGiSt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Google maps on the Incredible has exactly the same features as on the Droid.
  8. tsaro
    Offline

    tsaro Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY
    I wish you were right, but my DRINC doesn't respond to voice commands that way. I can use the mic to transcribe voice into text, but not to make the phone execute commands, like "Navigate". From what I understand, this is a shortcoming related to the phone's Google heritage and shared by the Nexus 1. I'm hoping for a software update someday (but not holding my breath).
  9. MiXoLoGiSt
    Offline

    MiXoLoGiSt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    I can use voice commands. I will say "Directions to Ice Cream" and it will come up with local ice cream places for me to choose from.
  10. manilaboy1vic
    Offline

    manilaboy1vic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    planet earth

    I just said "navigate to Best Buy" on my Incredible and it performs exactly the same as my droid.. im calling "user error"
  11. tsaro
    Offline

    tsaro Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY
    User error should be my middle name(s). I didn't realize I had to start on the navigation screen. Now why isn't there a way to dial the phone using voice commands (another dumb mistake on my part?).
  12. Daybreak
    Offline

    Daybreak New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    usa
    Howdy,

    Ya just click on the microphone and say "call joe" it will bring up all joe _______ listed in your contacts ready to dial...
Search tags for this page

droid razr navigation voice commands

,

voice navigation incredible

,

what voice for navigation is droid incredible