Voice Mail Icon will not go away

mg1cigar

Reaction score
Hi, new to this site, so I hope I'm posting in the right area. I've owned my Motorola Droid now for a month and a half now, two weeks in I noticed that my voice mail Icon after listening and either saving or deleting vm's the icon remained on the top left of the screen. I've removed the battery a couple of times now, and it still remains there. Went back to the Verizon store and they are telling me that the only way to remove the icon would be to reset my phone back to factory settings. Unfortunately they said I'd loose all my apps, music, etc. Does anyone here have a better way, or should I just leave the vm icon there?
Thanks,
Mike

warrior21

Reaction score
Are you using youmail or google voice, or are you just using the standard voicemail

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

OP
M

mg1cigar

Reaction score
I'm using the standard voice mail. I'm still learning this phone, I have no clue on the other types of vm you are refering to.

warrior21

Reaction score
Youmail is basically a 3rd party visual voicemail you can download and I had the same problem you had while using it. When you dial *86 does it let you access your mailbox?

Edit: I've been searching around and it seems to be a common problem with no real answer. I'll keep looking and let you know if I find anything worth trying

Last edited:

MrLich

Reaction score
I'm having this same issue, though in my case, it seems to have started when I switched from my standard voice mail to Google Voice. I tried switching back to check my vzw voice mail, but that didn't seem to do the trick.

Anyone hear anything new on this issue?

Taegost

Reaction score
Wait, there's a voice mail icon? I've never seen one, even before I rooted and changed ROMs...!
I've been dying for one, 'cuz I'm really bad about checking my voice mail :)

OP
M

mg1cigar

Reaction score