1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Voice Dialer-Does anyone use it without problems?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by TxDoc, Dec 7, 2009.

  1. TxDoc
    Offline

    TxDoc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It pretty much guesses (wrongly) in what I am saying. 10% of the time, it is correct. Any hints or settings to change are appreciated. Maybe there will be an update to understand Texas talk :icon_eek:

    If there is another app that will allow you to record your voice with your numbers so it can recognize what is being said a little easier, please let me know what it may be named.
  2. JayMonster
    Offline

    JayMonster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, to answer your question you asked in the title... Yes, I use it, with the only problem being a few... odd... names. Other than that, it works fine (for me), for contacts, dialing, Maps and Search 99% of the time.

    There really probably should be some way to train the software for different... regions... but at present, I guess either you will have to change how you speak to your Droid, or start entering names based on how they SOUND to the Droid (when you say them), rather than spelling them correctly. (At least for now)
  3. 928Droid
    Offline

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    I'm now using handsfree BT voice dialing and it works perfectly :)
  4. Meto
    Offline

    Meto Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    My voice dial has never worked properly so far with my Droid. At least my Voyager I had before this phone worked correctly on voice dialing
  5. TxDoc
    Offline

    TxDoc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for the replies. Only voice dialer is difficult, maps, searches, etc., work fine. I will check out BT voice dialing-thanks 928. Thanks for the replies, I appreciate it.
  6. Wulfmanjack
    Offline

    Wulfmanjack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago metro
    Voice dialer- soom room for improvement

    Yeah I would think a good voice dialing application would have been part of a standard :reddroid:OS build. My blackberry:blackberry: from 5 years had that.....and it worked well. I hope the developers address this in the next update as this is a core application of any phone. Also, it easily could be another defect in the Droid armor from attacks of the iPhone lamerz .
  7. garrett
    Offline

    garrett New Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    i dont use it a whole lot but the dozen or so times i have used it has worked like a charm
  8. JayMonster
    Offline

    JayMonster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I guess it depends on who you are (or who your friends are, since those are the names you are saying), but I find the voice dialer application excellent and thus is "standard with the OS build"
  9. Wulfmanjack
    Offline

    Wulfmanjack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago metro
    Jaymonster,

    It is possible I may not be explaining my issue correctly, but I will try to clarify this further. I think it is fair to assume that if I executed the voice dial program and said "call mom at home" it would then dial the number automatically, if it found a match. In my case, it finds the contact correctly, but then I have to select this contact on the screen -even if it the only match. Once again, with previous phones, I did not have to take any additional action if the voice search for a contact successfuly found the contact. Does your voice dial yield the same results? Is there something I can do so my expected results are met?
  10. iba10753
    Offline

    iba10753 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm just curious as to how you do this. I have a bluetooth headset at the office that is perfect for my particular situation. However, when I long-press the Search icon and then say to "Call..somebody" I feel that the phone is actually "hearing" me rather than some magical transference from my bluetooth microphone to the Droid.

    Again, just curious what procedure or app you're using that really means that you're using your bluetooth microphone to do voice dialing....

    Thanks,
    Ben
  11. LastBoyScout
    Offline

    LastBoyScout New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    At My House
    i have not had any issues using voice dialer at all. voice to text for text messages is another story all together.

    try slowing your speech pattern down slightly and enunciate clearly. this is what i told my friend to do and he hasnt had any issues on his droid since.
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I don't know how the previous poster does it but I do it with the Blue Ant Q1. It absolutely allows hands free dialing BUT you are limited to only 8 numbers.

    I just got mine today and tested it. The way it works is when an incoming call comes through you press the volume rocker after the call. It remembers the call number and ask you what you want to assign it.

    They can be pricey, I got mine on ebay for 48 bucks. I've seen them over 100.00.
  13. 928Droid
    Offline

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    Yep, the combination of BlueAnt Q1, Voice Dialer HF, and Button Shortcut (used to remap camera button to open Voice Dialer HF) gives he Droid as good as it's gonna get(for now) for "HandsFree" Voice Dialing.
  14. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I don't use Button Shortcut or Voice Dialer HF. I imagine if you wanted to go beyond the 8 numbers you would need that.
  15. OMEGA5
    Offline

    OMEGA5 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The voice search on my droid works great, the voice dialer on the other hand is pathetic. I live in the midwest(known for having very clean english) and the damn thing can't even get "dial mom" correct.
  16. 928Droid
    Offline

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    I had the same problem, rarely did it get it right and always had to chose from a list. It never got my wifes name right EVER.

    I downloaded Voice Dialer HF from DfxMobile and it nails it correct everytime, even from 20 feet away from my phone with ambient noise. PLUS it voice confirms your selectiona dn when you say "yes" it dials the number. Only one button tap to activate the app and from then on it is totally handsfree.

    Cost $3.99 but well worth it. I know you will not be dissapointed!

    Link to website for User Guide .. Voice Dialer HF (DFXmobile)

    QR Code for app in Market
    [​IMG]
  17. light3828
    Offline

    light3828 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    north colorado
    Is that an app? I've been looking for one to no avail
  18. 928Droid
    Offline

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    Read my last post above yours one more time :)
  19. TxDoc
    Offline

    TxDoc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Okay, I went back over old posts on the voice dialers and bought HF today. Very good recommendation. Works great and not a high cost. Thanks for the replies. :)
  20. justbob
    Offline

    justbob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Voice Dialer app really sucks, but you can do the same thing with the Google voice search, which works much better!

    Just go to Phone Settings --> Search --> Searchable Items and make sure that "Contacts" is checked.

    Now, hit the search key (if you don't have the search widget on your desktop already) and press the microphone icon. Say "Call Mom at home" and you're off to the races. No extra app required.

    This works with lots of other stuff too:

    You can say "Map of gas stations" and it will show a map of gas stations near you.

    You can say "navigate to 123 main street" and the navigation app will start up.


    Try other stuff too. The voice recognition on this thing is freakin' awsome.
Search tags for this page
4g voiz.net
,
android voice dialer problems
,
mastaer voiz.com
,
metro voiz dialer
,
www.4g voiz.com
,
www.mastar voiz .com
,
www.metro voize.com
,

www.metrovoiz.com

,
www.metrovoiz.net
,
www.x2 voiz.com net
,
wwww.metrovoize.com
,
x2voiz failde.com