Voice Commands With Bluetooth

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by SorenW, Mar 5, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. SorenW
    Offline

    SorenW New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, my Droid (Motorola A855) is my first phone of this type, so bear with me.

    With my old phone (Samsung Alias) when I have my bluetooth headset (Jabra BT500) connected, I could push a button on my headset and tell the phone to call someone.

    How can I do this with my Droid?
  2. bdbraaten
    Offline

    bdbraaten Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Frozen Wasteland that is Minnesota USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Short answer, you can't. Voice commands through the bluetooth don't work on the Droid.

    They only work through the microphone on the phone itself.
  3. giant25
    Offline

    giant25 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Short answer, you can't. It's one of the most disappointing parts about the Droid. Feel free to search this forum for a longer answer. Supposedly, it's one of the top issues (that I hope 2.1 will fix, but don't know if it will). The capability is there, but disabled in the code for some reason. There are 3rd party apps (HF Dialer, or something like that?) that help with this, but I don't think it's really a full replacement. I feel your pain bigtime and hope it gets fixed soon.

    EDIT: "bdbraaten and I are in sync apparently""
  4. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah I am bummed my Poineer head unit tells me that the device is not supported when I try and use BT Voice dialing :( I hope some time in the future there is a fix for it

    -=Jason=-
  5. StupidGenius
    Offline

    StupidGenius Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    Ratings:
    +30
    I know this has been discussed a length here, but I've always found this to be such a bizarre omission for this device.
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    Two things. First, it's an Android omission. All Android phones have this "issue." Second if you really do want voice calling there are apps in the Market but for true hands free the Blue Ant Q1 headset will work. It is limited however to only 8 contacts.
  7. StupidGenius
    Offline

    StupidGenius Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    Ratings:
    +30
    Ok, allow me to rephrase, Android. That is what I actually meant, sorry about that. I know the workarounds, but it is still odd quirk in the system.
  8. griz8791
    Offline

    griz8791 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    A detailed technical explanation can be found here: https://supportforums.motorola.com/message/99067#99067

    I interpret it to mean the code for hands-free voice dialing exists in the OS but has been disabled for at least the time being because the engineers who wrote the code didn't think they were getting a strong enough signal from the bluetooth device.
  9. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yeah there are apps that can allow you to use voice dial from your bluetooth as hookbill stated. That is one way around it. Some bluetooth headsets actually have their own builtin voice dialing systems, i know a few members have stated theirs do, but limits them to like a hand-ful of numbers in it.
Search tags for this page
cant use voice command to dial on bluetooth headset when con
,
do i need a voice command capable bluetooth headset with the
,
droid max using blue tooth voice commands
,
fix for samsung ace 2x blue tooth vioce comands
,

how do i dial hands free with droid mini

,
how do i use voice commands from my jabra bluetooth
,
how to use jabra with a droid voice commands
,

jabra tour bluetooth in-car hand-free device voice command does not work

,
sync jabra drive to voice command on motorola droid bluetoot
,
why cant i use voice command for my samsung 4 through blueto