1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Voice command to call

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by u7mg0, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. u7mg0
    Offline

    u7mg0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i cant figure out how to get this to work. i hit the search button, then the microphone. i say call dad, and it takes me to the web listing all different sites, like a google result.

    is there a "special" word to use to call someone like this? thx
  2. mcinvaille
    Offline

    mcinvaille New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    What I have noticed is I get that same "Google" result when I have multiple matches. If I have one specific match there is a pop-up to "Dial" or "Cancel". If I say "Dial" it will complete the call at that point for me.

    Mac
  3. Taegost
    Offline

    Taegost New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    It's hit-or-miss, I never had good luck with the voice search thing for dialing, and from what I understand, there are two different parts to it: Voice Search, and Voice Dial. I dunno how to switch between them though, I did it to test it and just broke down and bought HF Voice Dial off the market.
  4. myriad46
    Offline

    myriad46 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    There are 2 icons in your program tray. One is Voice Search which is the same as long pressing the magnifying glass button. Useful for google searchs, navigating and whatever else. That is separate from Voice Dial, which is specifically for dialing contacts with a voice command.

    When Voice Search is pressed, it gives you the picture of a microphone and says "google search" underneath. When Voice Dialer is pressed, it give you examples, such as "Call John Doe".

    Hope that helps.
  5. u7mg0
    Offline

    u7mg0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes that helps. but forgive me, where is the program tray? when i press teh mag glass, jsut the google search comes up. where do i find Voice Dial? thanks
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    It's in you applications drawer. Right next to voice search.

    But it's my experience that voice search works better then voice dial. YMMV.
  7. legalkill
    Offline

    legalkill Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kennesaw
    Also add "mobile" or "home" to the command like "call dad Mobile" This may help the search recognize the dial command.
  8. u7mg0
    Offline

    u7mg0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DUH....found it...thanks guys...i will give it a try
  9. El Droid Dude
    Offline

    El Droid Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Call command goes to search

    Has anyone a solution to this problem. My friend's Moto Droid does a web search when he uses the Call command eg "call George." He gets the standard web search page

    My Droid has no such problem, if I say "call so and so" it goes straight to dialing the # (if I have a contact by that name). We can't see any settings that we might have set up differently between the 2 phones.

    I'll have him try saying dial and see if that works.

    Any solutions?
  10. mcinvaille
    Offline

    mcinvaille New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    I have seen my MOTO Droid do both. I honestly think it has to do with my accent (I am from SC) and the way my entries are in my Contacts. If I say call Betty McInvaille Home it gives me the web search. But, If I simply say Call Betty Home it takes right to the dial page. As a side note, I discovered that once on the dial page I can say Dial and it completes the call for me.

    Mac
Search tags for this page
can i set the droid motorola mini to answere calls on voice
,
disable voice commands motorola defy
,
disabling voice command defy
,

droid incredible voice dialing

,
droid mini call by voice command
,
how do i disable google voice dialer on droid bionic
,
how to disable voice dialer on motorola blur
,
how to turn the voice command on motorola defy
,
how to voice dial on droid incredible 2
,
motorola defy disable voice dialer
,
motorola defy mini voice dialling
,

motorola defy voice commands

,
motorola defy voice commands button
,
voice aommand/ motorola defy
,
voice command defy