Voice and Data

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by bsmith0731, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. bsmith0731

    bsmith0731 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    Does the nexus support voice and data simultaneously like the thunderbolt?? If not why??

    It does over 4g but not 3g

    Sent from my GalaxyNexus using DroidForums
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,077
    Likes Received:
    1,503
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,667
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    you answered your own question:D

    4g uses LTE and 3g uses CDMA. CDMA doesn't support simultaneous use
     
  3. bsmith0731

    bsmith0731 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    The thunderbolt does

    Sent from my GalaxyNexus using DroidForums
     
  4. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,077
    Likes Received:
    1,503
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,667
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    And I believe the only exception is the TB. You can put your Nexus to CDMA mode and try to see if it works yourself.
     
  5. bsmith0731

    bsmith0731 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    I can confirm that yes it does work on the TB which is cdma also..



    Sent from my GalaxyNexus using DroidForums
     
  6. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,077
    Likes Received:
    1,503
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,667
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    im not sure why the TB supports it, maybe uses a different radio?
     
  7. syndicate0017

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    I believe its because the TB uses a separate radio for voice and a seperate radio for data. The Rezound also supports simultaneous voice and data over 3G

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  8. prowler85

    prowler85 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +8
    Sounds like an HTC thingy. Unless of course he's testing it connected to WiFi, cuz it will definitely support voice and data on 3g while connected to WiFi. But 3g itself doesn't support simultaneous voice and data - thus all of the old AT&T commercials touting their ability to do both, which (thank goodness) we don't have to put up with any more.
     
  9. bsmith0731

    bsmith0731 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    Must be an HTC thing.

    Didn't know the rezound did it as well.


    Sent from my GalaxyNexus using DroidForums
     
  10. wolstonc

    wolstonc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I don't know about the rezound, but the tbolt supports it because it uses a variation of cdma called eHRPD or something like that, which was put on there because of pressure from the iPhone. Idk why the rezound would have it

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  11. prowler85

    prowler85 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yeah, especially since it's a 4g phone which support simultaneous voice and data. Though the tbolt was the first 4g phone so it didn't make a lot of sense there either (ok, maybe a little sense as 4g builds out). And I didn't know that about the Tbolt. You'd think they would have advertised that more.