1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

VNC Server on Droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by crdnilfan, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://code.google.com/p/android-vnc-server/downloads/list

    Not my work, but nobody had posted anything about it here and it's a good find (although needs some work)

    Download the binary and use adb to push it to /data
    chmod 755 on it, and then execute it with
    /data/androidvncserver -k /dev/input/event4 -t /dev/input/event3
    the -k specifies which event to use for keyboard, and the -t for the touchscreen.

    Although event3 is correct for the touch screen it doesn't work, also currently the screen is completely black.

    I still actually use it though, mainly to text significantly quicker wirelessly using my computer's keyboard.

    I'm posting this not only to let people know about this useful tool, but I'm also hoping a dev will put in the time to tweak it to work with touch and the screen. (It should just be finding what settings are wrong and changing them).
  2. Big Lou
    Offline

    Big Lou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, you see the screen on the computer and you can use your mouse/keyboard to work in it?
  3. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's the result on most phones, with the Droid it needs some tweaking. It's no different than using VNC to control your computer, it's the exact same concept. The Droid though doesn't work correctly with touch or the screen, but because those features do work with other phones, all the coding is there, it just needs to be tinkered with.
  4. jakenovak
    Offline

    jakenovak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This seems to be a common thing with the Droid and screenshot apps (not being able to pull the screen)... I'll be curious as to what is causing it, and why its so different than other phones.
  5. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Was about to post a new thread titled "VNC Server for Droid?" when I stumbled upon this thread. Really wish we had a VNC to Droid from PC app that worked.

    Anyone have any ideas whats the issue with this one?
    Keyboard and mouse indeed do work, but no video!

    Thanks for posting how to install this half working one.
  6. Big Lou
    Offline

    Big Lou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you mean an App on the Droid which shows us what's going on our PC?

    There is an App for that, it's called PhoneMyPC. I have it and it works amazingly.
  7. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just the opposite, an app that shows our droid's screen on the PC. useful if you want to text somebody without removing your phone from your pocket!!

    or using it remotely to activate GPS, and locate your phone

    actually tons of uses...if it ever works.
  8. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Now that I have wifi tether, I sure wish I could VNC to my phone from tethered computers! Check my mailon my phone, read voicemails, open audio files, whatever! Remote Control my Phone!!
  9. Zaza
    Offline

    Zaza New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I registered just to throw in my support for this feature. Please some developer look into this!
  10. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Curious why event3 is the screen driver? When I get home, I'll play with some different #s
  11. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    event4 is the keyboard and event1 is the touchpad/mouse. can't get the screen to display although it seems to have correct access to /dev/graphics/fb0. i can type in input fields just fine from the pc, the mouse swipes are unpredictable but it get response from it just a blank screen which is hard to tell what's going on...
  12. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm, Event1 for Touch does not work for me?

    Thanks for looking at this...
  13. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try different event instance numbers... i'm using sholesmod-2.03 and not exactly sure how the kernel is different if any.. it's not really worth using right now until either the application is fixed and recompiled for droid to access fb0 correctly or the kernel is tweaked to allow vncserver to read fb0 correctly for the display
  14. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried 0-7 and no luck on any for Touch/Mouse.

    Where is the source for the fb0 portion?
  15. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the source code for /dev/graphics/fb0 (the graphics frame buffer) would be the in the device and kernel code for 2.0.1 and i'm not sure if that's made public? but it could also have been tweaked by motorola as well (and kept private)

    There's someone reporting this precompiled version works on a G1 and properly forwards the display...
Search tags for this page
android vnc black screen
,

android vnc server

,
android vnc server black screen
,
android vnc server black screen no video
,
android vnc server no root
,
android vnc server without root
,
could not start droid vnc server
,
droid vnc black screen
,

droid vnc server

,
droid vnc server black screen
,
droid vnc server display issues
,
droid vnc server no keyboard
,
samsung s4 vnc server
,
vnc event1
,
vnc server android no root