virus in moto droid?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by johnzenobia, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. johnzenobia
    Offline

    johnzenobia Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had some problems today that made me think there was a virus in the phone. The mute button would just mute by itself when on call and the music app would just start and stop by itself?? WTF I thought it was the jrummy rom so I changed to Ultimate droid and the same thing? Anyone else had this issue?
     
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    If you have a virus you are indeed special. Nobody else has one.

    Try doing a factory data reset or a wipe in SPRecovery. See if that doesn't solve your issue.
     
  3. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you running 2.2 roms?

    The mute issue is known to be present in the 2.2 roms, not sure about the music player though.
     
  4. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Odd that you changed ROMs and still had the issue. Maybe your hardware is screwy... I dono. REALLY doubt it's a virus, don't think such a thing is possible to do this at least...
     
  5. johnzenobia
    Offline

    johnzenobia Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did a full factory reset and a full wipe in clockwork recovery and same problem. I am in the process of formating the sd card to see if that changes anything.
     
  6. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think its hardware.... i cant explain it otherwise... if you wiped all data is gone.
     
  7. johnzenobia
    Offline

    johnzenobia Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    if i go back to stock 2.1 will verizon know it was rooted?
     
  8. fatpat3
    Offline

    fatpat3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    no, as long as u wipe data verizon will never know
     
  9. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like I already said:

    If these were 2.2 ROMS there is a known issue with the mute button.

    From what I understand when in call, if you tilt a certain way it activates the mute button. The mute button IS NOT A HARDWARE issue.

    Some people have also noted problems with music players, but I think that is a smaller issue and can be solved with using a different music app.

    It doesn't matter what 2.2 ROM you go to, the mute issue will remain present, I believe some developers are working on a fix, but I am not 100% sure about that.

    If you completely unroot and go back stock, no, verizon cannot tell you were rooted as long as you remove all traces of it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2010
  10. fatpat3
    Offline

    fatpat3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    And ya mute isn't working in mine either. That problem is for everyone who is rooted 2.2 but why would you want it all muted? Vibrate is the lowest I need
     
  11. hennbc
    Offline

    hennbc Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it stopon randpm songs? If you notice it is a certain album or artist just delete the file the song(s) are in
     
  12. dverplank
    Offline

    dverplank Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think Chevy has a fix for this
     
Search tags for this page
i think that my droid razr has a virus
,
moto droid virus
,
moto x virus
,
motorola devour virus
,
motorola droid has a virus
,
motorola droid razr virus
,

motorola droid virus

,
motorola droid x virus
,
samsung droid has virus, how to reset
,
virus on moto x phone