Viewing and replying to work emails (Outlook)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by MrMorganUSC, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. MrMorganUSC

    MrMorganUSC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not knowledgeable on this subject like some of you are. I see some of you have talked about syncing to outlook and how the Droid X won't and you aren't happy about it.

    All I want to do is be able to view my Outlook emails and be able to reply to them. I don't care if I delete it on the phone and it is still on my desktop. I just want to see and reply to them from my DX.

    Is this possible?

    MrMorgan
     
  2. Xpain

    Xpain Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I wonder why people are having problems with corporate emails. Mine works beautifully, much better than with my Droid 1. I even have my work calendar working, and get notifications for meetings, etc...
     
  3. MrMorganUSC

    MrMorganUSC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well how did you set it up?

    Mine is Outlook 2007. When I open it up and go to Tools-->Account Settings, under the email tabe it says Type: Exchange (send from this account by default)

    I just downloaded K9 and set up my gmail account....it looks great. Now how do I get my work email going?

    MrMorgan
     
  4. MrMorganUSC

    MrMorganUSC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know what type of email I have.....POP3, IMAP, WebDAV (Exchange)

    How do I know?

    MrMorgan
     
  5. Xpain

    Xpain Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    /\ /\ /\ If I remember correctly, I used the automatic setup. Not 100% sure, but it was effortless, that's for sure. I could look at the settings and let you know, not sure if that would help...
     
  6. MrMorganUSC

    MrMorganUSC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Automatic setup on K9?

    MrMorgan
     
  7. Xpain

    Xpain Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    no, no... sorry. I forgot to say I'm using the stock email (because it's working for me)
     
  8. Barryvabeach

    Barryvabeach New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Morgan, did you try going to Settings, Accounts, Add Account ( that might be a menu button ) then select corp account. You will need certain info about the address of your Outlook server and name of account - but the stock email client works well with Outlook 2007 for me.
     
  9. MrMorganUSC

    MrMorganUSC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I did do the stock setup at first but it didnt work either. I dont know all of the info about the address for my work server.

    MrMorgan
     
  10. MrMorganUSC

    MrMorganUSC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am bumping this to the top......

    I guess this is something I should ask our tech department?

    MrMorgan
     
  11. Lightninrod

    Lightninrod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got mine to work by installing K-9.

    Google your internet carrier for its server info. Here is mine using Cox Communications: Article: Information: Email Server Names

    I'm sorry but I don't remember the steps I went through to do it but it does work.
     
  12. MrMorganUSC

    MrMorganUSC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I work for the University of South Carolina. I am not sure who our internet is through

    MrMorgan
     
  13. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    You will have to get your tech department involved. G:)et information that you need from them. I do recall that setting up a .edu account is tricky - "doable".
     
Search tags for this page

university of south carolina email on android