1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Viewing and replying to work emails (Outlook)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by MrMorganUSC, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. MrMorganUSC
    Offline

    MrMorganUSC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not knowledgeable on this subject like some of you are. I see some of you have talked about syncing to outlook and how the Droid X won't and you aren't happy about it.

    All I want to do is be able to view my Outlook emails and be able to reply to them. I don't care if I delete it on the phone and it is still on my desktop. I just want to see and reply to them from my DX.

    Is this possible?

    MrMorgan
  2. Xpain
    Offline

    Xpain New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wonder why people are having problems with corporate emails. Mine works beautifully, much better than with my Droid 1. I even have my work calendar working, and get notifications for meetings, etc...
  3. MrMorganUSC
    Offline

    MrMorganUSC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well how did you set it up?

    Mine is Outlook 2007. When I open it up and go to Tools-->Account Settings, under the email tabe it says Type: Exchange (send from this account by default)

    I just downloaded K9 and set up my gmail account....it looks great. Now how do I get my work email going?

    MrMorgan
  4. MrMorganUSC
    Offline

    MrMorganUSC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know what type of email I have.....POP3, IMAP, WebDAV (Exchange)

    How do I know?

    MrMorgan
  5. Xpain
    Offline

    Xpain New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    /\ /\ /\ If I remember correctly, I used the automatic setup. Not 100% sure, but it was effortless, that's for sure. I could look at the settings and let you know, not sure if that would help...
  6. MrMorganUSC
    Offline

    MrMorganUSC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Automatic setup on K9?

    MrMorgan
  7. Xpain
    Offline

    Xpain New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no, no... sorry. I forgot to say I'm using the stock email (because it's working for me)
  8. Barryvabeach
    Offline

    Barryvabeach New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Morgan, did you try going to Settings, Accounts, Add Account ( that might be a menu button ) then select corp account. You will need certain info about the address of your Outlook server and name of account - but the stock email client works well with Outlook 2007 for me.
  9. MrMorganUSC
    Offline

    MrMorganUSC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea I did do the stock setup at first but it didnt work either. I dont know all of the info about the address for my work server.

    MrMorgan
  10. MrMorganUSC
    Offline

    MrMorganUSC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am bumping this to the top......

    I guess this is something I should ask our tech department?

    MrMorgan
  11. Lightninrod
    Offline

    Lightninrod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    I got mine to work by installing K-9.

    Google your internet carrier for its server info. Here is mine using Cox Communications: Article: Information: Email Server Names

    I'm sorry but I don't remember the steps I went through to do it but it does work.
  12. MrMorganUSC
    Offline

    MrMorganUSC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I work for the University of South Carolina. I am not sure who our internet is through

    MrMorgan
  13. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    You will have to get your tech department involved. G:)et information that you need from them. I do recall that setting up a .edu account is tricky - "doable".
Search tags for this page

university of south carolina email on android