Very poor WIFI performance?

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by AlanN, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. AlanN
    Offline

    AlanN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whilst I am in general very happy with my Milestone, the one thing that is consistently rubbish is the WIFI performance.

    In my house, I have an Airport Extreme Base Station and 2 Airport Express units used as range extenders (I live in a big old house with very dense walls).

    Our 3 laptops get full bars of signal and fast WIFI performance ANYWHERE in the house, garden, garage or even pub next door :icon_ banana:
    Two MACs, one W7.
    Also, iPhone (wife's) and iPod get full signal, great performance.

    The Milestone never shows more than 60% signal and the browsing is slow.

    Same in a few regular hotspots I frequent, iPod performs great, Milestone is avarage at best.

    Any ideas chaps?
     
  2. Szadzik
    Offline

    Szadzik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    The only answer is to get an iPhone.
     
  3. AlanN
    Offline

    AlanN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that stunningly incisive technical advice :)

    I've had an iPhone, as I said my wife *has* an iPhone.

    I have an iPod Touch and it's a great gadget.

    However I really like the Milestone and Android in general but am very dissapointed with the wifi performance.
    It doesn't seem to "see" the range extenders in my house whatsoever, and even when I stand next to the main base station my Milestone never registers more than 60% signal, I don't give a crap what percentage it registers, the point is it PERFORMS slowly!

    In identical environments (same time, same hotspots) the Milestone is massively outperformed by either my iPod or my wife's iPhone.

    Why?

    I don't want a cocking iPhone...I want the Milestone to perform as it should/is expected to.
    Is that too much to ask?
     
  4. Techneut
    Offline

    Techneut New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having a normal ADSL2 modem with standard WIFI; and my Milestone says, even from a small distance:
    91%, excellent.
    Performing is at maximum speed and flawlessly, just as it should be.

    Probably, your Milestone doesn't perform too well in that department...
    Did you already try to exchange it?
     
  5. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never seen my wifi bars go above 2
     
  6. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ugh unfortunately it's due to the wifi hardware or something I had HUGE headache with wifi and my droid. I have to move my router into my room in order to get a good wifi signal strength. I noticed that because my router was so far away my droid would constantly lose connection and the wifi wouldn't turn back on after turning off.

    Not to mention when ever I'm using my droid next to my Parent's Mac mini upstairs on the third floor the mac mini's internet connection starts to lag...while my droid is fine lol so weird.
     
  7. AlanN
    Offline

    AlanN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm.
    Sorta my point it must be a hardware thing surely?
     
  8. bastosero
    Offline

    bastosero Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    My wi-fi works very well for me. Try a reset first, and if that doesn't work try getting a replacement for it.
     
  9. AlanN
    Offline

    AlanN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried that today (with all the pain it involves re-installing ans setting everything up!)

    No difference.

    Looks like I'll be on the phone to Expansys Monday...
     
  10. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Earlier this week, I responded to a thread that compared 3G to wifi.

    Apparently, I'm the odd man out because, typically, I do not have my wifi turned on. I know that wifi is faster but where I live 3G is fine for my use.

    When I do turn wifi on I have no problems. I have a Linksys with MacBook pro and iMac.

    I think a trip to the store is in order.

    Mike
     
Search tags for this page
airport extreme 2013 sony phone poor wifi connection
,

droid x poor wifi performance

,
droid1 poor wifi performance
,
droig x poor wifi
,
gsm moto x poor wi-fi performance
,
how can i make my motorola milestone x hotspot signal
,
motorola x poor preformane on xfinity wifi
,
poor wifi signal with droid mini
,
weak wifi milestone 2
,
wifi range extender poor performance