1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Very deceptive advertising

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by New2u, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Sorry if i shouldn't post this here, but i thought it was a very interesting to see people make this mistake (seen it more then just this one instance). I debunked it like 2 seconds after he posted it but still interesting none the less.


    What you will notice on at&t's coverage is that if you zoom in even 1 zoom bar on their zoom function, it opens up their real 3g coverage area (which you have to enable). People seem to be misunderstanding the differences, because at&t wants people to think they are getting something much better then what they are.
  2. danDroid
    Offline

    danDroid Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I was wondering about that, thanks for the post!
  3. JohnDroid
    Online

    JohnDroid Guest

    I knew that the coverage couldn't be that bad, but I don't think anyone is denying that Verizon does have better coverage then any other network provider out there?
  4. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    admin did you see at&t's real 3g coverage.. it's terrible. it really is the map that verizon shows. at&t just hides it behind smoke and mirrors so people don't get to see the real map, because if they saw the real map they might not sign up for their service.
  5. dean.collins
    Offline

    dean.collins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I dont think coverage is the real issue - i mean who cares if there is 3g in montana - the issue is throughput and at the moment ATT have an issue with the number of iphone users.

    Lets see if Verizon can handle the massive growth on their network over 2 years that Droid might bring.

    We'll be watching.
  6. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    i'm curious about this too.. verizon's network is pretty groovy, but i bet we get some kind of limitation if there is a lot of growth. like maybe a 3gb cap on data instead of 5gb, or something like that..

    i bet our montana residents care.
  7. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Well if you can't get 3g service in Montana, people wanting an Iphone is Montana might want to know that, but AT&T doesn't like to show that. AT&T's infrastructure is not nearly the size of verizon's is. It would be fairly easy for verizon to do upgrades on an infrastructure that already exists compared to a network that doesn't exist.
  8. dean.collins
    Offline

    dean.collins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a 5gb data limit on the Droid from verizon?

    I thought it was unlimited like ATT iPhone?
  9. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    actually, i'm not 100% certain exactly where that applies. but i'm fairly positive it is only on tethered devices (which the droid doesn't support right now) or wireless cards. i mentioned that to say that we might get extra charges somewhere if they have to do some upgrading, i wasn't talking about the droid specifically. HAVING SAID THAT, if they do allow tethering on the droid, 5gb is a LOT of data unless you are torrenting music/movies
  10. jbjtkbw00
    Offline

    jbjtkbw00 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I'd like to see it too, but I think VZW may have the overhead to take on additional load. All of my wireless devices (2 netbooks and a connection card) through them consistently connect at 2+MB. To me, that's pretty damn amazing. This is indoors.

    Worst is at my place of employment where I might top out at 1.6MB.
  11. xjman349
    Offline

    xjman349 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    VZW puts more money back into their network than any other wireless carrier. They put 1 billion dollars into their network every 60 days. Your droid will have MMS on release because the network will support it. iPhone still cant tether because the network cant support it.
  12. OfTheDamned
    Offline

    OfTheDamned New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right now Verizon's only data cap is for tethering. If you are just using the regular data on the phone their is no cap.
  13. jbjtkbw00
    Offline

    jbjtkbw00 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Technically, that's not correct. There's a 5GB cap all the way around. Trust me as someone that's been kicked off of data plans twice for exceeding that limit.
  14. dean.collins
    Offline

    dean.collins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well that just plain sucks.

    I think i'll be sticking with AT&T if that is the case. The downloads might be slower but what the point if i cant download what i want.

    5gb is like nothing.
  15. xjman349
    Offline

    xjman349 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Technically it is correct. your above statment is not correct and ofthedamned is 100% correct.
  16. OfTheDamned
    Offline

    OfTheDamned New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, my first question is....WTF were you doing to hit 5 GB on a phone?!?!?

    Second, I know they can suspend your data plan for a month if you are using excessive data (suspected of tethering without paying), but they don't start hitting you with overages or anything.
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2009
  17. xjman349
    Offline

    xjman349 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    You are exactly right. We would never kick you from a plan. EVER. With mobile broadband connect, if you go over your 5g allotment you are charged overage on the new plans and on the old plans we would add a feature to your account called PFO. That would basically slow down your connection after hitting the 5g cap. We would never kick someone off of a data plan. If you go over thats just money in the bank.
  18. dean.collins
    Offline

    dean.collins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    5gb is hardly anything when it comes to smartphones.

    however i did just call verizon and their response was the $29.99 plan is unlimited data.

    We'll see. I'm a heavy user of data on my plan. If i get booted for using too mmuch data then i'll be cancelling my contract and moving back to ATT where unlimited does mean unlimited.
  19. xjman349
    Offline

    xjman349 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You could have saved yourself the call and just asked me considering you will get the same info. In case you didn't already know I work for Verizon Wireless. lol
  20. jbjtkbw00
    Offline

    jbjtkbw00 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Been with them for over 7 years. The first few times, there were a couple of warnings. Then, when I couldn't finally connect, I called and they had terminated the data portion. After a period of time, I was allowed back on. It happened again 3 years later (around 4 years ago.).

    Perhaps they've changed policy, but yeah, it has happened to me, so just going off of historical data.