Very deceptive advertising

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by New2u, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    Sorry if i shouldn't post this here, but i thought it was a very interesting to see people make this mistake (seen it more then just this one instance). I debunked it like 2 seconds after he posted it but still interesting none the less.


    What you will notice on at&t's coverage is that if you zoom in even 1 zoom bar on their zoom function, it opens up their real 3g coverage area (which you have to enable). People seem to be misunderstanding the differences, because at&t wants people to think they are getting something much better then what they are.
     
  2. danDroid

    danDroid DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,401
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +151
    I was wondering about that, thanks for the post!
     
  3. JohnDroid

    JohnDroid Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I knew that the coverage couldn't be that bad, but I don't think anyone is denying that Verizon does have better coverage then any other network provider out there?
     
  4. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    admin did you see at&t's real 3g coverage.. it's terrible. it really is the map that verizon shows. at&t just hides it behind smoke and mirrors so people don't get to see the real map, because if they saw the real map they might not sign up for their service.
     
  5. dean.collins

    dean.collins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I dont think coverage is the real issue - i mean who cares if there is 3g in montana - the issue is throughput and at the moment ATT have an issue with the number of iphone users.

    Lets see if Verizon can handle the massive growth on their network over 2 years that Droid might bring.

    We'll be watching.
     
  6. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    i'm curious about this too.. verizon's network is pretty groovy, but i bet we get some kind of limitation if there is a lot of growth. like maybe a 3gb cap on data instead of 5gb, or something like that..

    i bet our montana residents care.
     
  7. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    Well if you can't get 3g service in Montana, people wanting an Iphone is Montana might want to know that, but AT&T doesn't like to show that. AT&T's infrastructure is not nearly the size of verizon's is. It would be fairly easy for verizon to do upgrades on an infrastructure that already exists compared to a network that doesn't exist.
     
  8. dean.collins

    dean.collins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a 5gb data limit on the Droid from verizon?

    I thought it was unlimited like ATT iPhone?
     
  9. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    actually, i'm not 100% certain exactly where that applies. but i'm fairly positive it is only on tethered devices (which the droid doesn't support right now) or wireless cards. i mentioned that to say that we might get extra charges somewhere if they have to do some upgrading, i wasn't talking about the droid specifically. HAVING SAID THAT, if they do allow tethering on the droid, 5gb is a LOT of data unless you are torrenting music/movies
     
  10. jbjtkbw00

    jbjtkbw00 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd like to see it too, but I think VZW may have the overhead to take on additional load. All of my wireless devices (2 netbooks and a connection card) through them consistently connect at 2+MB. To me, that's pretty damn amazing. This is indoors.

    Worst is at my place of employment where I might top out at 1.6MB.
     
  11. xjman349

    xjman349 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    VZW puts more money back into their network than any other wireless carrier. They put 1 billion dollars into their network every 60 days. Your droid will have MMS on release because the network will support it. iPhone still cant tether because the network cant support it.
     
  12. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right now Verizon's only data cap is for tethering. If you are just using the regular data on the phone their is no cap.
     
  13. jbjtkbw00

    jbjtkbw00 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Technically, that's not correct. There's a 5GB cap all the way around. Trust me as someone that's been kicked off of data plans twice for exceeding that limit.
     
  14. dean.collins

    dean.collins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well that just plain sucks.

    I think i'll be sticking with AT&T if that is the case. The downloads might be slower but what the point if i cant download what i want.

    5gb is like nothing.
     
  15. xjman349

    xjman349 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Technically it is correct. your above statment is not correct and ofthedamned is 100% correct.