Verizon's Galaxy Nexus software update will adjust signal strength indicator.

Discussion in 'Android News' started by cereal killer, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. cirtbrethren

    cirtbrethren Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +3
    You two really need to get out more.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Tank_Tak

    Tank_Tak Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for the reply and link to the article, sucks you had issues and I didnt. I also forgot that we had gingerbread released so thanks for reminding me, updating it now. like you said who knows what the deal is with these phones, some may be faulty and others not so much. Oh well, again thanks for the reply and link. Merry Christmas and have a safe new year.
     
  3. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yea I have to stop being so opinionative about these phones. There just phones and Verizon is pretty good at replacing them if they are faulty, so i cant complain. Happy Holidays!:)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  4. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +63
    This is not a fix. Its just a way to shut people up so they stop complaining. I get 2-3 bars at about -100dBm to -107dBm when i go to my local VZW store I always have 4 bars with a signal of about -90dBm. I have absolutely no complaints
     
  5. Chatchie

    Chatchie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Mine does the EXACT same thing. Sometimes takes 2 reboots to get it going again.
     
  6. Ohyea!

    Ohyea! Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Had my Nexus a few days and so far the connectivity has been pretty darn good.

    My Nexus currently shows a -79 1 asu

    3G Droid X -63 0 asu.

    Clearly the Samsung seems to have a weaker antennae then the Moto, but so far I haven't nitcied any negative effects.
     
  7. Mark_V

    Mark_V Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    OKC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto G4 Plus
    I'm getting -100 dBm at work, which is a large metal building with lots of steel and concrete. Outside I get -96 dBm. Pretty sad if you ask me. :(
     
  8. Big Ry

    Big Ry Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +16
    Is everyone who's experiencing reception problems ACTUALLY experiencing real problems? I'm not trying to throw salt in any wounds here, but for the most part, everyone is just throwing out signal strength figures. Maybe VZW is right and there really is no problem...it just LOOKS like there's a problem. I just drove from blacksburg VA to Alexandria VA taking a bunch of country back roads I've never traveled before. Obviously I used my GPS on my brand new nexus! I hit many dead areas on 66 after I passed Charlottesville and got into the back country. I had zero bars of anything...forget about 4g. All I saw was a gray triangle. And not ONCE did I lose GPS :) and no I didn't pre download the map. So has everyone actually checked to see if the really even have a problem?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  9. donutz

    donutz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes!

    When I'm at work, the signal strength alternates between -120dBm 99asu and -100dBm 1asu.

    This causes my battery to drain rapidly. And my pocket gets really warm to let me know my phone is sucking the battery dry.

    If I didn't keep my phone plugged in at work, I wouldn't make it through half the workday without my phone going dead.

    That is a problem.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Big Ry

    Big Ry Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +16
    Mine frequently hovers around there (like any place in my apartment), and I don't get those battery drains or terrible signal issues. You should check for a rogue app.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  11. Arkbird

    Arkbird DF News Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    Is Blacksburg covered with 4G or is it just Roanoke?
     
  12. Big Ry

    Big Ry Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +16
    I was surprised to find out that Blacksburg DOES have 4G despite not being listed :D the signal strength and data speeds are WAAAAY better on campus than even a mile off campus though...its weird. Its like VT got their own tower lol

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
-95 dbm 45 asu
,
4g indicator on galaxy s3 after verizon update
,
galaxy centura why i have 3g but no signal strength
,

galaxy nexus antenna fix

,
galaxy nexus signal strength fix
,
how to see dbm's on the nokia lumia 928
,
signal strength meter for lte
,

verizon galaxy nexus antenna fix

,
verizon galaxy nexus signal fix
,

verizon signal strength in charlottesville va