Verizon's Galaxy Nexus software update will adjust signal strength indicator.

Discussion in 'Android News' started by cereal killer, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. Crankintopwater69

    Crankintopwater69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    Ratings:
    +116
    Well,looks like we got some decisions 2 make
     
  2. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
  3. Grady

    Grady Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can you tell what the signal range is (dbm)? Is there an app or is this something you can look at in the settings?
     
  4. johnomaz

    johnomaz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    637
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    Ratings:
    +775
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel 2XL
    Does anyone with the bad signal issues have the dB of their signal? Right now my DroidX is showing 3 bars, but I have -72dB signal strength. That is a pretty decent signal strength. If people are showing 1 bar and getting that, then it is a signal bar display issue. However, if they are getting -90 or higher dB...its a poor signal.

    System Settings, About Phone, Status. Its right there.
     
  5. sb1831

    sb1831 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well if that's all verizon is doing for an update I'll be taking the Nexus back. I bought this phone off contract, and I'm not keeping a phone which may or may not have a hardware issue. I can always purchase it again down the road if there is a permanent fix
     
  6. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,345
    Likes Received:
    275
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +275
    What's even funnier, is that I don't get above -80dbm in my area (when I'm paying attention anyways) and I have no signal or call quality issues.
     
  7. bsmith0731

    bsmith0731 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have -100 right now and its going from 1 to 2 bars
    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  8. Tank_Tak

    Tank_Tak Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Not to stir anything up Just curious what connectivity issues you had with your Fascinate as I never had any issues and still dont now that I managed to get a replacement fascinate. GPS Issues are nonexistent with this phone as I always connect to sats within 20 seconds, and I actually get better signal now than I ever did before and I live in a town where there is no tower close by. Yes I use a network extender at home but throughout the town where no one has signal I can usually pull at the very least one bar.

    Also sorry if this is the wrong place to post and ask, I just saw his response and replied to it.

    As far as the Gnexus goes, Does anyone think the signal issue and possibly battery life is directly related to the NFC built into the battery and it being so close to the internal antenna? I mean if basic radio frequencies can potentially interfere with a device why cant the nfc chip?
     
  9. jds54

    jds54 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Gnex has a -99 in my basement office showing 2 bars.
    I also have the 10.1 Samsung verizon tablet showing -85 in basement also.
    It seems that the radio in the Gnex may be slighty weaker in pulling in the 4G signal.

    Also my Fascinate is pulling a -78 3g as a reference to above.
    Just posting to see if anyone has any input about readings.
    Haven't had any issues with Gnex and actually like it over the Fascinate.
     
  10. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    I never had a replacement fascinate, maybe mine was a dud, but a lot of people had the same issues I did. We were all constantly changing radio software to try an get a decent data connection. I had the Fascinate for 6 months before I finally got rid of. GPS took like 5 minutes to kick in during navigation, etc.

    My cousins Charge has similiar problems so I started to draw some conclusions from our experience and from what I gathered from the web. I also called Verizon and they flat out told me that the GPS and radio were faulty on the Fascinate and they would send me different phone, but I didn't want to cuz I was rooted and didn't know how that would work. I wish that I had done so though.

    I finally went out and bought a Inc2, then a Bionic after that. I did multiple speedtests side my side with the Inc2 and Fassy. I could never get above 400kps with the Fassy, got 1.2mbps on the Inc2 from day one. I even got around 800kps on my Droid 1. I get 1.7mbps on my Bionic in 3g. The GPS never worked properly on my Fascinate the entire time I had it. I ran stock, roms, different kernals, radio, etc. Nothing worked.

    I though my problems were unique and I had a bad or damaged phone, but a lot of people over at Fascinate Forums, Here on DF and over at XDA shared the same issues with their Fascinate and Charge. The idea came up that maybe Samsung used faulty or cheap radio hardware in their phones, which made sense cuz mine was very weak.

    That being said, I never ran Gingerbread on my Fascinate. I got rid of it before it came to the device. Maybe gingerbread fixed the issues, but I still will never trust Samsung radio hardware, especially when Moto makes the best radios on the market and HTC isn't too bad either. My experience and research has led me to believe that Samsung has some issues.

    There are many articles on the web that add to my suspicions about Samsung radios. Here is one.
    Rumor: U.S. Carriers Dragging on Negotiations with Samsung Over Galaxy S2 – Droid Life
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. gadgetrants

    gadgetrants Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +228
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Hey Steve, slightly off-topic comment (more so since you don't own the Fascinate any more) but I ran into GPS problems early with the Droid 3 and found something that *seemed* to help:

    https://market.android.com/details?id=com.eclipsim.gpsstatus2

    In particular, in GPS Status' settings, there's an option to clear and refresh the aGPS data (as you know, acquired through the cell network). It's entirely possible that it's all placebo, but my impression is that the D3 went one day from endless signal searching, to immediate lock the next. I notice I do have a little trouble from time to time, but nothing like the original problems I had. In particular, I never have to try airplane mode or reboot the phone.

    Hope you're doing great, and have a peaceful winter break!

    -Matt
     
  12. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hey Matt. Yea I ran that app on my Fascinate. It's been a while since I had the Fascinate and I believed I cleared GPS data with that app, but I can't remember. I was flashing radios and roms a lot so maybe that messed up my GPS data. I basically could never count on my navigator to give me turn by turn directions. I could use the map to get a list of directions, but turn by turn never kicked in. But it could have been a lot of factors, I should cut Samsung some slack I suppose, lol...it was just a bad phone experience for me. I love the Bionic though, I am glad I went back to Moto, although this locked bootloader is a real PIA

    I am doing well! Thank you. You have a wonderful winter holiday too!:)
     
Search tags for this page
-95 dbm 45 asu
,
4g indicator on galaxy s3 after verizon update
,
galaxy centura why i have 3g but no signal strength
,

galaxy nexus antenna fix

,
galaxy nexus signal strength fix
,
how to see dbm's on the nokia lumia 928
,
signal strength meter for lte
,

verizon galaxy nexus antenna fix

,
verizon galaxy nexus signal fix
,

verizon signal strength in charlottesville va