Verizon's Galaxy Nexus software update will adjust signal strength indicator.

Discussion in 'Android News' started by cereal killer, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. rjsurfer

    rjsurfer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Shouldn't there be a standard that all manufacturers should abide to?

    I mean a direct relationship between Db and the number of bars presented on the display?

    This way 3 bars mean -80Db to -95Db etc.....

    Ron W.
     
  2. GeLopez

    GeLopez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    i will also agree that this update will fix my nexus, i do not have a loss of service but i do only have 1-2 bars of 4g.

    so the question is when?
     
  3. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    This is like Deja vu for me. Same thing happened with the Fascinates radio. We all waited months and months and months for a software fix and when it came it didn't fix anything. I believe the radio hardware was just bad in that device. With the Bionic it was actually fixed for a lot of people with a software update, which took less than 2 months to arrive. I have zero connection issues with the Bionic now, the signal is quite strong.

    Samsung is a very untrustworthy company in my opinion. I hope they don't promise you fixes for months that never come and that they used better radio hardware in the GNex.

    *Here is an interesting article about Samsung and CDMA technology http://www.droid-life.com/2011/07/0...-on-negotiations-with-samsung-over-galaxy-s2/
     
  4. techRob

    techRob Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just want my call quality to get fixed :( .. right now I get bad electronic distortions in my ear ... and the person on the other end gets static
     
  5. Crankintopwater69

    Crankintopwater69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    Ratings:
    +116
    I was wonmdering about those gray bars.As Im typin this-Im have -120 where my blkberry use 2 have at least 2-3 bars.I can make phone calls and get on the net with no bars
     
  6. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    I can fix that now. Its simply a matter of changing images in a couple apk files. I can give you the impression you have FULL connectivity ALL the time if you want me to lol


    Doesnt mean you will actually have full connectivity though. Verizon should bid this job out to meeeeeeee.....mwuahahahaha. Ill have the update later today not months lol.

    j/k...no seriously!
     
  7. geoff5093

    geoff5093 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +29
    I didn't see it posted, are they saying the Nexus is showing more bars then it should, or not enough?
     
  8. fish1552

    fish1552 Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Signal is good

    I know my device shows no bars, yet I get good signal. This will just fix what I know to already be true.
     
  9. gadgetrants

    gadgetrants Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +228
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    • Like Like x 2
  10. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    I just wanted to point out here....that if you have -120 dbm, you practically have no signal at all. and on top of that if you still get decent 4G service, you're reading the 3G signal strength and not the 4G strength.

    Try putting your phone in airplane mode. the signal will display -120. Nice trick, ey?
     
  11. Crankintopwater69

    Crankintopwater69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    Ratings:
    +116
    So in a nutshell-those of us who can make phone calls and get on the net with no bars,this update is gonna help us and those with bad antennas this update is gonna make u think you have a good or better signal
     
  12. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    No, the point is this update is a placebo and does nothing for the firmware or radio hardware.
     
Search tags for this page
-95 dbm 45 asu
,
4g indicator on galaxy s3 after verizon update
,
galaxy centura why i have 3g but no signal strength
,

galaxy nexus antenna fix

,
galaxy nexus signal strength fix
,
how to see dbm's on the nokia lumia 928
,
signal strength meter for lte
,

verizon galaxy nexus antenna fix

,
verizon galaxy nexus signal fix
,

verizon signal strength in charlottesville va