verizon wont activate it......noob droid owner here

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jay_d, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. jay_d

    jay_d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i got my droid in the mail today.....decided it was awesome and time to activate it. called verizon gave them the phone code and they said no....its still activated from another user. I guess this means if i cant get the original owner to deactivate it that the meid is dirty and this thing is junk??

    ive also heard the activation wont go through if you had a dumbphone (which i do) with no data plan. anyway this could be part of the problem?
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    i don't think the data plan thing would contribute although it's not a great idea to have a smart phone without a data plan. have you contacted the seller?
     
  3. vzwtek

    vzwtek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Contact seller, or enjoy living on wifi hotspots.

    You could also see if you can activate it online and manually program it to your min and mdn and it will work for voice and text, then you could use wifi for data, no mms though.
     
  4. jay_d

    jay_d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, i sent them an email, and the meid so that they could call verizon and get it fixed. If they dont i guess im gonna open an item dispute
     
  5. Jordan8

    Jordan8 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't either, I'm pretty sure Verizon will auto add a data package when you activate a smartphone.

    Side thought, if it's still activated on his line... does data/calling & what not work? Lol. Maybe you bought one with a bad ESN #?
     
  6. jay_d

    jay_d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    when you power it up it prompts to activate it, the phone itself is not activated, but verizon seems to think it is.

    at least when i was on at&t this kinda thing couldnt happen......dropped calls and crappy service, but not this lol
     
  7. tfotos

    tfotos Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just out of curiosity.. was your phone ebayed? I was thinking of getting my wife a used droid 2... guess I'll rethink that option.


    Sent from my rooted Fascinate running SC 2.9.2 and Tapatalk.
     
  8. jay_d

    jay_d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup it came off ebay. and at this point i wouldnt advise it
     
  9. Jordan8

    Jordan8 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would call Verizon & give them the ESN number(found under the battery) & ask them if it's bad or not. A lot of people sell phones on ebay that have bad ESN #'s which is why it's always good to check before you buy.
     
  10. mack19318

    mack19318 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tampa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Search a forum called xda. Look for how to turn your droid into a cricket service phone. Full data, 3g and way cheaper!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. jay_d

    jay_d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup cricket doesnt work where i live
     
  12. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    II just answered another person on how safe it is to buy on eBay. If this guy sold you a phone with a bad ESN then eBay or PayPal, if you used it, should be able to right the wrong.

    People frequently buy the phone, then find out they can't afford the charges. So when they don't pay their bill the phone gets shut off and people pass their problem on to you. Or it's a stolen phone. Either way your only recourse is via eBay or PayPal.
     
  13. Snow02

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    If it was advertised as having a good esn, submit a fraudulent sale ticket to ebay.
     
  14. jay_d

    jay_d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i opened an item dispute, so maybe im not stuck with this turd. The real killer here is that its in great shape and everything works awesome on it. I have a buddy that has a droid with a broken screen he said he would give me, so if all else fails it might be a parts phone
     
  15. vzwtek

    vzwtek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    just swap the boards, would be alot easier than screen replacement on droid, then you can grab the esn in the programming menu. voila.
     
Search tags for this page

*# codes for android verizon activation

,

which provider will activate my rooted fascinate (originally

,

why wont mobile data activate on droid 3 verizon?