1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Verizon update with foxfi

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Note 2' started by Shortmiddle, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. Shortmiddle
    Offline

    Shortmiddle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well... Never had a problem before, so i just updated without checking other's expedience first because I use foxfi all the time.

    Now foxfi is broken. Is there an easy way to undo the update?
  2. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am looking for a solution for this as well. I updated two s3 and a note 2 and they all lost foxfi
  3. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    291
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Same on my S4. I think FoxFi needs to work on it. The other option is a root and tether app.
  4. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    I'm guessing the vzw hotspot still works, since I'm paying for it?, on unlimited plan still. I haven't done the update yet.

    8th Infantry division
  5. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    291
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    It should still work. As you say, you're paying for it.
  6. Shortmiddle
    Offline

    Shortmiddle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm sure it does. Foxfi now causes an error message that prompts users to call verizon customer service if they want to use the hot spot feature.

    You mean the feature that comes with my phone that I paid full price for just so V could stop me from using it? yes...that feature.
    I think rooting might be in my future.
  7. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    I pay for hot spot on my unlimited plan and that's why it works for me.

    8th Infantry division
  8. silentsecret
    Offline

    silentsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Screw foxfi beter question is does this update break elixer2 widget hotspot?
  9. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    How's it work for you?

    8th Infantry division
  10. silentsecret
    Offline

    silentsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Setup widget for hotspot. Press the button on the widget you just setup and it activates the stock hotspot on your phone
  11. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    I'm gonna check it out, thanks

    8th Infantry division
  12. silentsecret
    Offline

    silentsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reply if it works I wont update unless it does.
  13. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    What widget do I use for hot spot?

    8th Infantry division
  14. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    It's working for me

    ForumRunner_20131221_235312.png

    8th Infantry division
  15. silentsecret
    Offline

    silentsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sweet I can update now with no worrys thanks.

    I ditched foxfi when they went full retard and required you to pay.

    Edit: actually you pay for hotspot soo ill wait untill somone thats updated and not paying chimes in.
  16. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    If you don't pay for hotspot I'd hold off

    8th Infantry division
  17. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    I pay for hotspot and when I turn on hotspot it says it "checking subscription" it didn't do this before update, I'm on unlimited.

    8th Infantry division
  18. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Thanks elixer2 is sweet.

    8th Infantry division
  19. Shortmiddle
    Offline

    Shortmiddle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    I'm happy to try elixer and let you know if it works.

    I just downloaded it, but I can't see how to open the hotspot directly. How did you set it up?
  20. silentsecret
    Offline

    silentsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesnt work nothing works after update im going to have to root it seems.
Search tags for this page
foxfi
,
foxfi 2014
,
foxfi and verizon
,
foxfi new verizon update
,
foxfi not working
,
foxfi not working after update
,
foxfi not working after verizon update
,
foxfi not working on verizon galaxy s3
,
foxfi not working verizon
,

foxfi verizon

,
foxfi verizon 2014
,
foxfi verizon not working
,
foxfi verizon update
,
verizon foxfi
,
verizon update foxfi