Verizon Throttle

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by kingsway8605, Sep 2, 2011.

  1. kingsway8605

    kingsway8605 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone encountered the Verizon throttle since they started doing it back in February, and if so, were you notified of it happening?

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,079
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,670
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Unless you're a consistently heavy data user you won't be throttled.

    I use roughly 2gb a month, but that's very low compared to some other members here on this board that consistently hover or go over the rumored "5gb/mo cap". I haven't heard of them being throttled either or anyone complaining of being throttled.
     
  3. kingsway8605

    kingsway8605 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It only applies to people who have signed up or renewed since February. I renewed in June and have been getting very slow data since. I use about 4GB a month. I am thinking the cap is 2GB like att. Verizon says it applies to the to 5 percent, and att said 2GB is their top 5 percent. I would imagine it is the same stats for Verizon.

    That is why I want to know if people who are certain they were throttled have gotten any type of notice.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
     
  4. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +17
    That really sucks. My phone is my computer. I have used over 2 gigs in 7 days just watching Netflix. Glad I'm not being throttled.

    random rom'd X
     
  5. Graymayre

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    Last time I renewed was with the OG Droid, Jan 2010. I've been throttled every time I enabled Wifi tether for more than 5 minutes. Of course I have used over 7 gigs this month.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  6. kingsway8605

    kingsway8605 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You shouldn't be

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
     
  7. Graymayre

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    Tis why I'm riding a pink pony

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
    #7 Graymayre, Sep 2, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2011
  8. kingsway8605

    kingsway8605 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should call them and tell them you are mistakingly being throttled when tethering your rooted phone. Go ahead, do it lol.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
     
    #8 kingsway8605, Sep 2, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2011
  9. YourNamesTaken

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have noticeably faster data speeds when unthrottled using nitroscript and I only use up to five gigs a month, usually less.

    Sent from my DROID2