Verizon SMS Alerts to Help You Manage Your Tiered Data Plan Usage

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,813
    Likes Received:
    1,749
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,784
    [​IMG]

    Today is the fateful day in which Verizon switches over to their tiered data plans. Whether we hate it or not, Verizon implemented it, and now, to try and assuage some of our pain, they are going to have a free SMS service that alerts you when you are approaching your data limits. Starting this week you will receive free text alerts when you reach 50, 75, 90, 100, and 110 percent of your monthly data allowance. If you have a My Verizon account you can request email alerts instead. The 50 and 75 points can be disabled, but the 90, 100, and 110 are mandatory. Of course, there are several other ways for you to manually check your data usage amounts, like downloading the Data Usage Widget, etc. Below is the press release for this new "feature":
    Source: Engadget and VZW Press Release
     
  2. markietas

    markietas New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Salisbury NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aww how nice of them.

    You know these plans wouldn't be so bad if they actually saved anyone money. But since the lowest tier is the same price as unlimited, it's not like you can drop down to a lower one if you don't use that much data and save money.
     
  3. SmokinHawtVegasChic

    SmokinHawtVegasChic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just glad I have unlimited...with a discount cause of my job...on ALL of my lines.

    Sad for those that are just coming in. Is Verizon the only one doing this so far, or have Sprint, ATT, TMobile jumped on this already?
     
  4. markietas

    markietas New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Salisbury NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know AT&T have been doing it for quite a while now.
     
  5. stinger161

    stinger161 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this mean they are going to blow me up with texts "Mr Bauer you are approaching unlimited data"?
     
  6. SmokinHawtVegasChic

    SmokinHawtVegasChic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    Ratings:
    +0

    Oh ok...not on ATT so never knew. That just blows.
     
  7. ReidTruett

    ReidTruett New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    T-Mobile has been advertising their unlimited plans and I checked Sprint's website a couple of days ago and they still offer unlimited.
     
  8. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    248
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +248
    Current Phone Model:
    GNote2
    More like: Mr Bauer, you are approaching your data limit and should consider purchasing a higher amount!
     
  9. GDP

    GDP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't even get the data usage widget on the thunderbolt.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
     
  10. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea use a widget to connect to the internet to check how much usage you have left.
    Seems like a great way of wasting that data.
    Anyone know how often it updates?
     
  11. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +296
    Why don't they all do what AT&T does with tablet plans - you hit you're 2gigs for the month and you're done unless you reload, and it automatically reloads at the start of every billing cycle.
     
Search tags for this page
how do you set up data alerts on virizon for your iphone usa
,

how to check data usage on casio commando

,
how to check my data usage on my comando
,
how to get data alerts from verizon
,
how to get notifications from verizon about ny data use
,
how to receive verizon data alert
,

how to set a data limit on a casio camando

,
how to set up usage alerts verizon business
,
verizon wireless data usage text request
,
what message does verizon send when you are close to your da